ATP Sao Paulo - Entry List: With no top-40 stars, the doors are wide open

by   |  VIEW 3562

ATP Sao Paulo - Entry List: With no top-40 stars, the doors are wide open

Established in 2001, the Brasil Open was played in Costa do Sauipe for 11 years before moving to Sao Paulo where it stayed until now, held on both indoor and outdoor clay courts. Nicolas Almagro was the first champion at the new location in 2012, followed by Rafael Nadal and Pablo Cuevas who was the champion for three straight years.

Fabio Fognini won the title in 2018 but he will not be in Sao Paulo to defend it, together with the rest of the top-40 field, making this one of the weakest tournaments in the calendar! Malek Jaziri and Joao Sousa are the only top-50 players in the draw, followed by Leonardo Mayer who will try to become the third Argentine champion here after Guillermo Canas and Federico Delbonis.

Albert Ramos-Vinolas and Guido Pella complete the top-70 line-up, leaving the door open for the lower-ranked players to chase the title in the event without a clear favorite. Maximilian Marterer, Roberto Carballes Baena and Jaume Munar are capable of playing good tennis, so as the 2014 winner Federico Delbonis and the Chilean Christian Garin.

The Serb Laslo Djere is the last player from the top-100 and there's plenty of space for the competitors outside the big group, the Italian veteran Palo Lorenzi and the bunch of youngsters, including Felix Auger-Aliassime, Elias Ymer and Casper Ruud who trains at Rafa Nadal Academy in Manacor.

The draw will not be strong and it will undoubtedly offer a chance for at least 15 players to step in and fight for the trophy at Ginasio do Ibirapuera, making Sao Paulo the only indoor clay event on the ATP Tour. It should be a great clash between youth and experience and it will be interesting to see who will emerge as a winner. Sao Paulo entry list:

#43 Malek Jaziri (TUN)  
#44 Joao Sousa (POR)  
#53 Leonardo Mayer (ARG)  
#64 Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)  
#65 Guido Pella (ARG)  
#71 Maximilian Marterer (GER)  
#75 Roberto Carballes Baena (ESP) 
#79 Jaume Munar (ESP)  
#80 Federico Delbonis (ARG)  
#82 Taro Daniel (JPN)  
#89 Christian Garin (CHI)  
#92 Laslo Djere (SRB)  
#103 Pedro Sousa (POR) 
#104 Lorenzo Sonego (ITA)  
#106 Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN)  
#111 Elias Ymer (SWE) 
#112 Casper Ruud (NOR)  
#114 Juan Ignacio Londero (ARG) 
#116 Paolo Lorenzi (ITA)