Indian Wells receives ATP award for the fifth straight year, joined by..

by   |  VIEW 4754
Indian Wells receives ATP award for the fifth straight year, joined by..

Staged at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, the BNP Paribas Open has been the first stop in the Masters 1000 series calendar since the foundation in 1990, joining Miami on a huge 96-player draw in 2004 and having the strongest possible champions list.

Stefan Edberg, Jim Courier, Michael Chang, Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray and Juan Martin del Potro have all lifted the trophy at Indian Wells and it has grown up into the biggest tennis event in the world outside Majors, with constant improvements and new features.

Tournament settled at Indian Wells Tennis Garden in 2000, with the 16,000-seat main stadium, the second largest in the world of tennis, and it is recognized as the fifth-biggest tournament of our sport after Majors! In 2010, Larry Ellison became the new owner and more big features were just around the corner, with Indian Wells as the first tournament in the world with Hawkeye system on every court.

Three years later, Indian Wells Tennis Garden gained the brand new 8000-seat Stadium 2 and it offers the perfect conditions for both the players and fans, making Indian Wells the ATP Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year for the fifth straight year.

ATP Executive Chairman & President Chris Kermode presented BNP Paribas Open Tournament Director Tommy Haas the award on Friday afternoon and it will be hard for the remaining eight Masters 1000 events to steal the crown from Indian Wells in 2019.

After 2015 and 2016 (it was the best tournament from ATP 250 category in 2013-14), Fever-Tree Championships at Queen's Club is the best-organized ATP 500 tournament in the calendar, standing as the toughest test before Wimbledon and forging a nice mixture of history and tradition with the best possible grass courts that gather some of the best players in the world every June.

On the ATP 250 level, Stockholm Open took honors as the most prominent event from the series just like in 2016 when it shared them with Winston-Salem.