ATP Munich - Entry List: Alexander Zverev seeks third straight title

by   |  VIEW 2762
ATP Munich - Entry List: Alexander Zverev seeks third straight title

The International Tennis Championships of Bavaria had started way back in 1900 in Munich and the Bavarian capital has been on the tennis map ever since, moving the event to the Iphitos Tennis Club in 1974 and staying in the ATP calendar ever since.

Guillermo Vilas, Manuel Orantes, Ivan Lendl, Michael Stich, Roger Federer, Nikolay Davydenko, Tommy Haas and Andy Murray are all on the list of champions and Alexander Zverev joined the list in 2017, defending the title last year as the first player since Franko Squillari in 2001.

Alexander will have the opportunity to go for a triple crown, returning to Munich this spring for the sixth straight year and leading a solid field of players who will try to stop his dominance and steal the trophy. Marco Cecchinato should be the 2nd seed, returning to Munich for the third time and seeking the first good result at this event after scoring one win so far.

The 24-year-old Kyle Edmund is set to make Munich debut and he will try to repeat his 2018 spring run on clay, reaching the final in Marrakech and defeating Novak Djokovic en route to the quarter-final in Madrid. Diego Schwartzman is another title contender despite an early loss in Munich a year ago when Maximilian Marterer toppled him in the second round.

The winner of two ATP titles on clay was the finalist in Buenos Aires in February and we should see a lot from him in April and May if he brings his 'A game.' Another player from the top-30 Roberto Bautista Agut makes his fourth Munich trip, losing in the semis in 2015 and 2017 and hoping to go at least one step further in May after a rock solid start of 2019 campaign.

Guido Pella, Marton Fucsovics and the three-time champion Philipp Kohlschreiber are in contention as well, together with some interesting players from outside the top-50 who will try to surprise the favorites and make a name for themselves ahead of Madrid and Rome.