Two-time champion Dominic Thiem to headline Buenos Aires 2020

by   |  VIEW 2882

Two-time champion Dominic Thiem to headline Buenos Aires 2020

The Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club will host the ATP 250 event for the 19th consecutive year, gathering excellent clay courters who will battle for the title in the second stop of the Latin American "Golden Swing" after Cordoba.

Gustavo Kuerten, Carlos Moya, Guillermo Coria, Gaston Gaudio, David Nalbandian, Tommy Robredo, Juan Carlos Ferrero, David Ferrer and Rafael Nadal had all won the title here in the past, joined by Dominic Thiem who went all the way in 2016 and 2018.

The Austrian will chase the third title in Buenos Aires between February 10-16, 2020, becoming the first confirmed player for the 20th edition of the prestigious clay-court event. The two-time Roland Garros finalist will compete in Buenos Aires for the fourth time in the last five years, winning 11 out of 12 matches so far and seeking the third title.

Back in 2016, the Austrian lifted the trophy on debut, prevailing against Gastao Elias, Rafael Nadal and Nicolas Almagro for the fourth ATP title, spending more than five hours on the court against the two Spaniards and sealing the deal in the deciding tie breaks to add his name to the list of champions.

Skipping Buenos Aires in 2017, Thiem returned a year later and used a favorable draw (no rivals from the top-40 in four encounters), toppling Aljaz Bedene 6-2, 6-4 to become the first two-time champion since David Ferrer, seeking the third crown this February.

Diego Schwartzman had other plans, though, taking down Thiem 2-6, 6-4, 7-6 in two and a half hours after a titanic battle in the quarter-final, with Marco Cecchinato claiming the title. Thiem has been one of the best players in the world in 2019, standing at the top of the list with five ATP titles, claiming the first Masters 1000 trophy at Indian Wells and losing another Roland Garros final to Rafael Nadal.