ATP Finals - History and Players: Sampras, Federer, Djokovic

by   |  VIEW 2356

ATP Finals - History and Players: Sampras, Federer, Djokovic

The ATP Finals are the traveling tournament that closes the ATP season. Throughout its history, the tournament has moved to various metropolises across the globe, where great champions such as Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Pet Sampras, Boris Becker, Ivan Lendl and John McEnroe managed to entertain the crowds of the cities that hosted their matches.

After eleven years at the O2 Arena in London, in 2021 the tournament will move to Turin, Italy, where it will remain until 2025. The tournament was played for the first time in 1970 in Tokyo, and ion that first edition it was the American Stan Smith who won the round robin coming first in the standings.

The following year the tournament moved to Paris and the winner was the Romanian Ilie Nastase. In 1972 the tournament move to Barcelona and once again Nastase won, beating the American Stan Smithin the final. The following year they played in Boston where Nastase defeated in the final the Dutch Tom Okker..

In 1974 the tournament was held in Melbourne and the Argentine Guillermo Vilas won on Nastase. The Romanian won the title the following year in Stockholm by defeating the home-crowd hero Björn Borg in the final for 6–2, 6–2, 6–1.

in Houston, in 1976, Manuel Orantes beat Wojciech Fibak, while in1978 the tournament went at the Madison Square Garden in New York, until 1989, for twelve seasons in a row. In the first New York edition, the American Jimmy Connors triumphed with his victory in the final over Björn Borg while the following year John McEnroe beat Arthur Ashe In 1979 and 1980 Björn Borg won against Vitas Gerulaitis and Ivan Lendl, while the same Lendl won in 1981 and in 1982.

In 1983 and 1984 was John McEnroe to win the event. Lendl is again the winner from 1985 to 1987, while in 1988 the winner was Boris Becker. Becker last the last final of 1989 against Stefan Edberg. The last played in new York.

From '90s to today: Sampras, Federer, Djokovic

From 1990 to 1995 the tournament was held in Frankfurt in Germany.

In the first German edition of the tournament to win is the American Andre Agassi who beats Edberg. The following year it was Pete Sampras who triumphed by beating Jim Courier. Boris Becker came back to win the ATP Finals in 1992, while in 1993 it is always Michael Stich beat Pete Sampras.

Sampras won in 1994, while Becker triumphed in the last edition in Frankfurt, in 1995. In 1996 the tournament always remained in Germany, but moved to Hannover. Pete Sampras, who three edition of that series: 1996-1997 and 1999, while Alex Corretja won in 1998.

Starting from 2000 the wandering of the tournament starts again for different venues: in 2000 it is held in Lisbon with the victory of Gustavo Kuerten, in 2001 it was played in Sydney and in 2002 in Shanghai, with Lleyton Hewitt who won on both occasions.

For two consecutive years the tournament was held in Houston: Roger Federer always wins. From 2005 to 2008 they played in Shanghai in China. The first Chinese edition is won by David Nalbandian who beats Federer in five sets in the final.

The Swiss won in 2006 and in 2007. In 2008 the Serbian champion Novak Dokovic beat Nikolaj Davydenko. The following year the tournament moves to London and Nikolaj Davydenko beat Juan Martín del Potro in the first edition of the London events.

In 2010 and 2011 Roger Federer won and sets the absolute record of 6 victories at the end of the year Masters. The titles of the years 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 were won by Novak Dokovic. In 2016 the Serbian arrives again in the final but is defeated by Andy Murray.

In 2017 Grigor Dimitrov wins who overtakes David Goffin in the final. In 2018 and 2019 other tw surprises: the wins of Alexander Zverev and Stefanos Tsitsipas.