2021-22 ATP Player Council: Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal feature prominently

by   |  VIEW 2793

2021-22 ATP Player Council: Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal feature prominently

The members of the ATP Player Council for 2021-22 have been appointed. There is a mixture of both old and new faces as there have been several players who have been re-elected. The players who have been re-elected include Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Kevin Anderson, Felix Auger-Aliassime and John Millman.

The newer appointees to the Player Council are Pablo Andujar and Marcus Daniell. Gilles Simon, who was part of the Player Council on two previous occasions, will serve his third term as a member of the newly-elected council.

The alumni and coach representatives are Colin Dowdeswell and Dani Vallverdu respectively.

ATP Player Council: Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal's membership term extended

World no. 1 and former ATP Player Council President Novak Djokovic, who had quit the Council in August right before the US Open, had also been nominated to the Player Council.

Had the 17-time Grand Slam champion been appointed, he would have re-entered the Player Council after having announced a shock resignation and exit from the Council in August 2020 right before the start of the US Open to form the Professional Tennis Players Association (PTPA).

Vasek Pospisil, who had exited the Player Council along with Djokovic and who was the co-founder of the PTPA, had also been nominated. However, both Djokovic and Pospisil announced their decision to withdraw themselves as potential re-elects to the new Council that was to be formed citing that the ATP rule to not have members of any rival organisation to be a part of its Player Council.

Via a note shared on his social media platforms, Djokovic said, “…A few days after my nomination the ATP passed a new rule which has put me in a difficult position. This new rule specifies that all members of the newly formed Professional Tennis Players’ Association or any association that is deemed as having a ‘conflict of interest’ cannot be elected as a member of the Players Council.

As you know, I am part of the PTPA, an organization that was recently created with no intention of being in conflict with the ATP. “…Unfortunately, given these latest developments, I feel it is now necessary to remove my name from the list of candidates.

I do not wish to create conflict or uncertainty around the player elections or create any issues that may arise. I do this reluctantly and with a very heavy heart. I am, and always have been, very passionate when it comes to representing my peers on the council”.

Meanwhile, the members of the newly-appointed ATP Player Council will hold their first meeting in January 2021. The President and Vice-President of the Council will also be elected in the same meeting. Previously, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have served as President and Vice-President respectively.