Laureus Awards - Three tennis players among the nominees

by   |  VIEW 2294

Laureus Awards - Three tennis players among the nominees

The nominees for the Annual Laureus Sports Awards have been announced, and as every year tennis is there. In the 'sportsman of the year' category, Andy Murray is one of the athletes who can win. In the same category sprinter Usain Bolt, Mo Farah, Stephen Curry, LeBron James and Cristiano Ronaldo.

In 2016 Murray had his best season ever winning Wimbledon and ATP Finals, becoming World No. 1 in November. The nominees were announced by the three-time Laureus Awards winner Novak Djokovic. Among the female athletes of the year there is the other World No.

1, Angelique Kerber, who Triumphed at the Australian Open and US Open. Her "opponents" will be Simone Biles, Allyson Felix, Katie Ledecky, Elaine Thompson and Laura Kenny. Finally, in the 'Comeback Player of the year' list there is the Argentinean player Juan Martin Del Potro, who won the silver medal at the Rio Olympics after beating among the others Djokovic and Nadal.

He broke into the top 40 of the ATP Rankings as well. In the same category Ruth Beitia, Michael Phelps, Fabienne St Louis, Nick Skelton and Aksel Lund Svindal have been nominated. For all the three tennis players, it would be the first Laureus Awards title in their career.

Winners will be announced in Monaco on February 14. ALSO READ: John McEnroe: 'Murray will have much pressure in Melbourne'