'I see Carlos Alcaraz with more options to do more things', says top coach

Carlos Alcaraz lost prematurely at the Queen’s Club

by Simone Brugnoli
SHARE
'I see Carlos Alcaraz with more options to do more things', says top coach
© Luke Walker / Stringer Getty Images Sport

Rafael Nadal explained a few days ago that Carlos Alcaraz’s game was more versatile on clay than the rest of his opponents, his uncle, Toni Nadal goes further and says that for the moment Carlitos is much better than Jannik Sinner and this on all surfaces: "Alcaraz is better, he accomplishes more on the court than Sinner, his tennis is more varied.

Carlos Alcaraz
Carlos Alcaraz© Clive Brunskill / Staff Getty Images Sport
 

I see Alcaraz with more opportunities to accomplish more in the future. Sinner has great mastery, although Alcaraz is slightly superior in terms of mental abilities.

Both are equally strong on all surfaces as tennis has become much more homogeneous."

Carlos Alcaraz wants to win Wimbledon

Carlos Alcaraz lost prematurely at the Queen’s Club where he was the defending champion.

This implies on the first hand the loss of the trifle of 500 points and at the same time the second place in the world, and on the other hand, he will arrive at Wimbledon with few matches on the green surface and doubts that can have even more harmful consequences on his ranking.

Recall that the young Spaniard is also the champion at the All England Club and a defeat before the final would cost him a lot of points.

Carlos Alcaraz
Carlos Alcaraz© Luke Walker / Stringer Getty Images Sport
 

A new rule was imposed at the Queen’s tournament this season, this rule refers to the time between points. In the umpteenth attempt by the ATP to "streamline" the sport and eliminate as much as possible the "dead time" of each meeting, the circuit is testing this week an important modification: Now the clock that marks the time between points is activated at the end of each point.

Until now, this clock was activated by the chair referee after pointing the scoreboard after each exchange; now it is activated immediately and automatically, without waiting for any action from the referee.

The young tennis prodigy is not a player who complains normally but according to him this rule is simply a huge fiasco: "This new rule is insane and harmful to players.”

Carlos Alcaraz
SHARE