Auburn men's team beat Old Dominion to get the first dual match road victory of 2023


Auburn men's team beat Old Dominion to get the first dual match road victory of 2023

The Auburn University men's tennis team got yesterday a dual match road win record of the 2023 season, with a 5-2 win over Old Dominion in Norfolk. Auburn will have a rest day before returning to action against Wisconsin at home tomorrow.

That game will start at noon CT at the Yarbrough Tennis Centre. As reported by the University website, Tyler Stice and Alejandro Moreno dropped out of their doubles match on court three early, but Jan Galka and Billy Blaydes won their match 6-2 on court two, which left the doubles point on field one.

Finn Murgett and Raul Dobai then won a close match on court one against Younes Lalami and Brandon Perez, the 36th ranked doubles team in the nation, by a score of 6-4 to claim the doubles point for the Tigers. Stice eventually grabbed the Auburn victory after defeating Younes Lalami 7-6, 6-4 on field one to make the score 4-0 in favor of the Tigers.

After Stice grabbed the team win, Murgett won his match over Cosme Rolland De Ravel 3-6, 7-6 (4), 1-0 (1). Head coach Bobby Reynolds explained: "I'm happy to have won today. We struggled through some ups and downs on the doubles court, but eventually found our focus and confidence towards the end of the match to consolidate the doubles point. We exited great in singles and put ourselves in a position to quickly succeed in many positions with first set wins.

We have tripped over some obstacles that consolidate lead, sets and matches and that's where we need to understand and learn to be able to minimize them events in future. We have grown in our ability to pull off a big team win on the road against a very talented and well coached ODU team.

This is an NCAA Tournament team we just beat on the road in a short week and a tough journey."

About Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States. With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state.

Auburn University's sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC). Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men's swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women's swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women's track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men's and 19 women's. Auburn's colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college's football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website