Auburn men's team fell 1-4 to Tulane

Auburn will go home Thursday for an SEC matchup with No. 6 Kentucky

by Lorenzo Ciotti
Auburn men's team fell 1-4 to Tulane

Auburn University men's tennis team suffered a 4-1 loss Sunday against No. Tulane, in New Orleans. Auburn will go home Thursday for an SEC matchup with No. 6 Kentucky. That match will start at 3pm. CT at the Yarbrough Tennis Center where admission is free.

Live streaming video and live score of the game will be available on As reported by the Auburn website, in singles, the Tigers suffered a pair of losses in straight sets to bring the deficit to 3-0. Will Nolan fell to Luc Hoeijmans 6-2, 6-3 on court four, while Finn Murgett nearly missed the third set but lost 6-2, 7-5.

Tyler Stice picked up his first win since the Blue-Gray National Tennis Classic by upsetting No. 80 Fynn Kuenkler 6-4, 7-5. Stice's win marks his 12th singles win of the season and eighth doubles singles win. With the score now 3-1, Auburn needed to win all three of their remaining games to secure a team win.

Raul Dobai forced a third set against Alex Bancila on court five and Alejandro Moreno was forced to go to the third set after his opponent, Billy Suarez won a tiebreaker to claim the second set on court two. Freshman Billy Blaydes dropped the first set in a long tiebreaker and was forced into another tiebreaker in the second set on court six.

Rafael de Alba won the tiebreaker to take the second set and win 7-6 (7), 7-6 (5), as well as the team win for Tulane. Both Moreno and Dobai's matches went unfinished after the Green Wave grabbed the win. In doubles, after Auburn lost game one on court two 6-4, the other two doubles games were very close games that were decided by tiebreakers.

Auburn's Tyler Stice and Alejandro Moreno claimed field three by a score of 7-6 (3) and Tulane claimed field one by a score of 7-6 (4) to pick up the doubles point.

About the Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States.

With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state. Auburn University's sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men's swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women's swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women's track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men's and 19 women's. Auburn's colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college's football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Photo credits: Auburn University website