Stevens women's team beats SUNY Oneonta 8-1!

by   |  VIEW 904

Stevens women's team beats SUNY Oneonta 8-1!

Stevens Institute of Technology women's tennis team defeated SUNY Oneonta 8-1 Thursday in non-conference play at the USTA National Tennis Center. As reported by the Stevens Institute of Technology website, the women's Tennis continues non-conference play on March 25 as the Ducks travel to Keystone State for a game with Haverford College.

It is believed to be only the third meeting all-time between the programs. The Ducks captured all three doubles flies and five of six singles games to win their first game of the year to improve to 1-5. Maxie Karen was victorious on a third single to set the line run of the day for the Red Dragons, who fell to 8-8.

Untermeyer partnered freshman Anya Sharma in an 8-3 win in third doubles over Stephanie Schutte and Brianna Shaw. The 8-3 score was also found on line one, where graduate student Agatha Malinowski and youngster Polina Odintseva brought down Karen and Julia Holtermann.

Sophomore Isabella Dona and senior Juliette Marchisio finished off the standings with an 8-1 victory over Jessica Harris and Danielle Copp. In single play, the Ducks won all five games in straight sets. After Untermeyer's shutout of Holtermann on line one, Malinowski dropped just four games to record a 6-2, 6-2 win over Schutte on line two.

Sophomore Emma Eguia and freshman Fionna Flores also nearly spun in their respective flights, with each student-athlete losing just one game in identical decisions 6-0, 6-1 in fourth and sixth singles. Dona capped off the impressive win with a 6-3, 6-3 on line five.

About the Stevens Institute of Technology

The Stevens Institute of Technology is a private research university in Hoboken, New Jersey. Founded in 1870, it is one of the oldest technological universities in the United States and was the first college in America solely dedicated to mechanical engineering.

The university is home to two national Centers of Excellence as designated by the U.S. Department of Defense and US Department of Homeland Security. Two members of the Stevens community, as alumni or faculty, have been awarded the Nobel Prize: Frederick Reines, in physics, and Irving Langmuir, in chemistry.

The research enterprise at Stevens features three national Centers of Excellence designated by the US government: the National Center for Secure and Resilient Maritime Commerce and the National Systems Engineering Research Center.

The Stevens Ducks are composed of 25 NCAA Division III teams representing Stevens Institute of Technology in intercollegiate competition. The Ducks are members of the Middle Atlantic Conferences (MAC) and the MAC Freedom Conference for all sports except fencing. Photo Credits: About the Stevens Institute of Technology website