Auburn women's beats LSU 4-3!

by   |  VIEW 1232

Auburn women's beats LSU 4-3!
Auburn women's beats LSU 4-3! (Provided by Tennis World USA)

The Auburn University women's tennis team defeated LSU 4-3 at the Yarbrough Tennis Center on Friday afternoon. The Tigers won the game despite dropping the doubles point and dropping the first set over four courts during singles play.

Now, Auburn will look to continue their winning ways this weekend when they face No. 2 Texas A&M at Noon CT at the Yarbrough Tennis Center. Live video and live score of the top 15 fight will be available online at

The Auburn freshman duo of DJ Bennett and Kaitlyn Carnicella earned the team their 10th doubles win of the season and their 6th straight doubles win on court three by a score of 6-1. However, Auburn abandoned the game on both other courts to lose the doubles point.

Carolyn Ansari, in her first top-ranked singles match this season, lost her match in straight sets to No. 27 Anastasiya Komar. Freshman Angella Okutoyi earned her ninth singles win of the year with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Nikita Vishwase to narrow Auburn's deficit to 2-1.

Bennett tied the match with a straight set win on court four, defeating Nina Geissler 6-2, 6-2. Carnicella dropped her game on field four, which forced Auburn to win both of their remaining games to get a team win. Junior Ariana Arseneault came back after losing her first set to Kylie Collins, the 22nd ranked singles player in the country, to win her next two in a row to complete the upset 6-1, 6-0, 6-3 on court two.

The win was Arseneault's ninth singles double win of the year and she tied the match at three. Flach, who also lost her first set on court six, fought back by claiming the second set 6-4 to force a third set take-all winner to decide the match.

The junior then took the third set 6-3 to hand the Tigers the victory. The win propels Auburn to a 14-4 overall record and improves its SEC record to 4-2. The game was also the Tigers' 10th home field win. With the loss, LSU drops to 9-5 for the season and 2-4 in conference play.

Auburn coach Caroline Lilley explaine: "Resilient, we say it often, but we coach the most resilient team in the country. LSU came out and played exceptional doubles. Our answer to doubles, to play with balance and the composure we made along the stretch, is a testament to the way our young women prepare.

When you choose to love the process, your best is always ahead."

Women's singles

1. #27 Anastasiya Komar (LSU) def. #32 Carolyn Ansari (AUB) 6-1, 6-3 2. #50 Ariana Arseneault (AUB) def. #22 Kylie Collins (LSU) 1-6, 6-0, 6-3 3.

Safiya Carrington (LSU) def. Kaitlyn Carnicella (AUB) 7-5, 6-4 4. DJ Bennett (AUB) def. Nina Geissler (LSU) 6-2, 6-2 5. Angella Okutoyi (AUB) def. Nikita Vishwase (LSU) 6-2, 6-3 6. Adeline Flach (AUB) def. Noor Carrington (LSU) 3-6, 6-4, 6-3

Women's doubles


#55 Kylie Collins/Anastasiya Komar (LSU) def. #20 Ariana Arseneault/Carolyn Ansari (AUB) 6-1 2. Safiya Carrington/Noor Carrington (LSU) def. #80 Adeline Flach/Angella Okutoyi (AUB) 6-1 3. DJ Bennett/Kaitlyn Carnicella (AUB) def.

Nina Geissler/Nikita Vishwase (LSU) 6-1

About the Auburn University

Auburn is a public university located in Auburn, Alabama, United States. With more than 25,000 students and 1,200 faculty members, it is one of the largest in the state.

Auburn University's sports teams are known as the Tigers and compete in Division I-A of the NCAA and the Western Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC). Auburn has won 19 intercollegiate championships (including 17 NCAA championships), three of them in football (1913, 1957, 2010), 8 in men's swimming and diving (1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 ), 5 in women's swimming and diving (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007), 2 in equestrian (2008, 2011), and one in women's track and field (2006).

Auburn has also won a total of 70 Southeastern Conference titles, 51 men's and 19 women's. Auburn's colors are orange and blue, chosen by George Petrie, the head coach of the college's football team, inspired by the colors of his alma mater, the University of Virginia.

Auburn was founded on February 7, 1856 during the presidency of Franklin Pierce, as East Alabama Male College, a private liberal arts school affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1872 the college became the first public university to benefit from the Morrill Act and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama.

Photo credits: Auburn University website