University of Georgia ladies win the 2023 SEC title against Texas A&M!


University of Georgia ladies win the 2023 SEC title against Texas A&M!

The University of Georgia women's tennis team defeated Texas A&M 4-2 Sunday afternoon at the Billingsley Tennis Cente, to reclaim the 2023 Southeastern Conference Tournament Championship. This victory equates to the ninth SEC Tournament title in program history and the 20th overall SEC crown for the team.

Now the Bulldogs await their regional assignment for the first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament Friday through Sunday, May 5-7. Graduate Meg Kowalski and sophomore Guillermina Grant earned All-SEC Tournament team honors, and Kowalski was ranked Most Valuable Player.

Georgia coach Jeff Wallace said after the victory: "I'm really, really happy and excited and proud of this team. We worked really hard and got together this weekend and played absolutely amazing tennis. Our doubles against LSU was best doubles we've played this season, only giving up three games in total.

Our semi-final came straight to the end, Anastasiia Lopata came back from down 5-1 in the third set to win it. We fought like crazy all afternoon and well into the night. To come back and play Texas A&M, who had such a good year.

We played probably our fullest doubles point today and for Guillermina Grant and Mell Reasco to get those quick points. It was very fitting that has come down to our fifth year senior Meg who has been such a performer for us in her five years.

She fought like crazy and made it for us. I am really happy and excited for this team and now we are pumped to the NCAA Tournament."

Women's Singles Results

1. #2 Mary Stoiana (TAM) def. #3 Lea Ma (UGA) 6-2, 6-4
2. #73 Salma Ewing (TAM) vs.

#6 Dasha Vidmanova (UGA) 6-3, 3-6, 1-0, unfinished
3. #66 Mell Reasco (UGA) def. #57 Mia Kupres (TAM) 6-4, 6-3
4. #115 Jayci Goldsmith (TAM) def. Anastasiia Lopata (UGA) 7-6 (7-5), 6-2
5. #71 Meg Kowalski (UGA) def. Daria Smetannikov (TAM) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2

Guillermina Grant (UGA) def. Jeanette Mireles (TAM) 6-3, 6-1

Women's Doubles Results

1. #25 Jayci Goldsmith/Salma Ewing (TAM) def. Dasha Vidmanova/Mell Reasco (UGA) 6-1
2. #35 Guillermina Grant/Mai Nirundorn (UGA) def. #55 Mia Kupres/Mary Stoiana (TAM) 6-3

Lea Ma/Meg Kowalski (UGA) def. Gianna Pielet/Jeanette Mireles (TAM) 6-4

About the University of Georgia

The University of Georgia is a public university located in Athens, Georgia, United States. Founded in 1785, it is the oldest and largest institution of major education in the state.

The University of Georgia is part of the University System of Georgia. It is also a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. It is classified as a Research University/Very High Activity. On January 27, 1785, the Georgia General Assembly issued a document signed by Abraham Baldwin for the University of Georgia to be the first state university.

Sixteen years later, in 1801, a committee of the university's board of trustees selected a site on a hill below Cedar Shoals for the university to stand on. On July 25, John Milledge, one of the trustees and later governor of Georgia, bought 1,000 square miles of land from Daniel Easley and donated it to the university.

During the American Civil War, the university closed in October 1863 and reopened in January 1866. In the summer of 1903, after a century of exclusively white male education, UGA opened to female education, but the girls were admitted to undergraduate courses only in 1918.

In 1961, UGA was involved in part of the civil rights movement when Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes became the first two African American students to enter the University of Georgia. The University of Georgia offers 140 graduate programs in a variety of disciplines.

Featuring 13 libraries scattered across campuses, they contain 4.7 million volumes and one of the largest collections of maps in the American nation. UGA Libraries is a member of the Association of Research Libraries. The University of Georgia is organized into 18 schools and colleges and consists of 3 main campuses: the largest one is located in Athens while the other two are in Tifton and Griffin.

The University's sports teams are called the Georgia Bulldogs. A member of the Southeastern Conference, the Bulldogs have won 37 national championships and 130 conference titles. The Georgia Redcoat Marching Band is the official marching band of the University of Georgia.

Photo Credits: University of Georgia webiste

University Of Georgia