University of Georgia ladies beat Michigan to get NCAA Final Four!


University of Georgia ladies beat Michigan to get NCAA Final Four!

The University of Georgia women's tennis team beat Michigan, to reach the NCAA national semifinals. For Georgia ladies, this is the program's 15th NCAA semifinal appearance and second in the last four seasons. The Bulldogs improve to 26-4 overall and play Friday at 5:30 p.m.

against North Carolina. Coach Jeff Wallace said after the victory: "Court three in doubles played great and got us on the board. Court two was down 4-0, and for those guys to come back and win that tiebreaker, with the way which the match took place, it was absolutely huge.

Mell did a great job getting a straight singles win, and Anastasiia also got a straight singles win, both matches were tough, hard fought, really tennis outstanding. Meg was struggling, she came close in the first set and got down and back.

A fifth year senior against a freshman, that's pretty much what you want to see in that situation. Meg played absolutely amazing. It's nice win and I thought Michigan played great."

Women's singles

1. #36 Kari Miller (MICH) vs.

#3 Lea Ma (UGA) 0-6, 7-5, 3-0, unfinished
2. #27 Jaedan Brown (MICH) vs. #4 Dasha Vidmanova (UGA) 5-7, 6-1, 1-1, unfinished
3. #63 Mell Reasco (UGA) def. #51 Julia Fliegner (MICH) 7-6 (10), 6-3
4. #81 Anastasiia Lopata (UGA) def. Andrea Cerdan (MICH) 6-3, 6-4

#125 Meg Kowalski (UGA) def. #79 Lily Jones (MICH) 7-6 (1), 7-5
6. #113 Gala Mesochoritou (MICH) vs. Gigi Grant (UGA) 6-7 (4), 5-4, unfinished

Women's doubles

1. Jaedan Brown/Andrea Cerdan (MICH) def. Dasha Vidmanova/Mell Reasco (UGA) 6-4

#25 Gigi Grant/Mai Nirundorn (UGA) def. Julia Fliegner/Lily Jones (MICH) 7-6 (4)
3. Meg Kowalski/Lea Ma (UGA) def. Merri Kelly/Kari Miller (MICH) 6-1

About the University of Georgia

The University of Georgia is a public university located in Athens, Georgia, United States.

Founded in 1785, it is the oldest and largest institution of major education in the state. The University of Georgia is part of the University System of Georgia. It is also a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

It is classified as a Research University/Very High Activity. On January 27, 1785, the Georgia General Assembly issued a document signed by Abraham Baldwin for the University of Georgia to be the first state university. Sixteen years later, in 1801, a committee of the university's board of trustees selected a site on a hill below Cedar Shoals for the university to stand on.

On July 25, John Milledge, one of the trustees and later governor of Georgia, bought 1,000 square miles of land from Daniel Easley and donated it to the university. During the American Civil War, the university closed in October 1863 and reopened in January 1866.

In the summer of 1903, after a century of exclusively white male education, UGA opened to female education, but the girls were admitted to undergraduate courses only in 1918. In 1961, UGA was involved in part of the civil rights movement when Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes became the first two African American students to enter the University of Georgia.

The University of Georgia offers 140 graduate programs in a variety of disciplines. Featuring 13 libraries scattered across campuses, they contain 4.7 million volumes and one of the largest collections of maps in the American nation.

UGA Libraries is a member of the Association of Research Libraries. The University of Georgia is organized into 18 schools and colleges and consists of 3 main campuses: the largest one is located in Athens while the other two are in Tifton and Griffin.

The University's sports teams are called the Georgia Bulldogs. A member of the Southeastern Conference, the Bulldogs have won 37 national championships and 130 conference titles. The Georgia Redcoat Marching Band is the official marching band of the University of Georgia.

Photo Credits: University of Georgia webiste

University Of Georgia