ATP Delray Beach - DRAW: Nick Kyrgios, Milos Raonic and Reilly Opelka are favorites

by   |  VIEW 7338

ATP Delray Beach - DRAW: Nick Kyrgios, Milos Raonic and Reilly Opelka are favorites

The 28th edition of Delray Beach Open takes place at the Delray Beach Tennis Center next week, moving there from Coral Springs in 1999, with Lleyton Hewitt as the first champion 20 years ago. Tommy Haas, Kei Nishikori (won his first title there in 2008 at the age of 18), Mardy Fish, Juan Martin del Potro, Kevin Anderson, Marin Cilic, Ivo Karlovic, Sam Querrey, Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe have all won the title at this event and we should get some exciting battles for the titles this year as well.

The top seed Nick Kyrgios returns to action for the first time since the Australian Open, withdrawing from New York and getting ready for Delray Beach as his first tournament away from home this year. Nick will face his good friend Tommy Paul in the first round, with the winner of that one playing against Frances Tiafoe or Tennys Sandgren, two Australian Open quarter-finalists!

Miomir Kecmanovic and Jordan Thompson are also in the top quarter, together with Ugo Humbert and New York finalist Kyle Edmund who will seek another deep run and more ranking points. Taylor Fritz, Pune winner Jiri Vesely, Brandon Nakashima, Jason Jung, Yoshihito Nishioka and John Millman form the second quarter, with a realistic chance for them all to seek the semi-final spot in this balanced part of the draw.

The 7th seed Adrian Mannarino plays against the young Korean Soonwoo Kwon, with the winner of that one facing Ryan Harrison or Damir Dzumhur. Mackenzie McDonald, Yasutaka Uchiyama and the 4th seed Reilly Opelka are also in the third quarter, with Reilly looking to fix the error from New York and attack the title.

Radu Albot, Jack Sock (another wild card), Henri Laaksonen, Steve Johnson, Cedrik Marcel-Stebe and New York finalist Andreas Seppi will all try to stop the 2nd seed Milos Raonic in the bottom quarter, with the Canadian hoping to reach another final here after giving Jack Sock a walkover in 2017.