ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

by   |  VIEW 11435

ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

The ATP Finals have greeted the O2 Arena in London after ten years, and are preparing to experience a new phase of their existence in Turin, Italy, where the 2021 edition will be played. Turin will host the year-end Masters until 2025 at the Palasport Olimpico.

As for the eight qualified for the edition that will close this season, at the moment there are four already with the pass in hand: Novak Djokovic, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Alexander Zverev, plus two others just waiting for the mathematics to certify their respective qualifications, Andrey Rublev and Matteo Berrettini.

For the last two places, however, the question becomes interesting: Casper Ruud (3015 points) and Hubert Hurkacz (2955) are currently the last two to enter, but to undermine them there are, in fact, Cameroon Norrie (2795) and Jennik Sinner (2595), while Felix Auger-Aliassime (2330) and Aslan Karatsev (2030) are more distant, but with various tournaments still to be played - including the Paris Rolex Masters, never say never.

ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

This week the only protagonist is Rublev who, however, as mentioned, is already almost certain of a place among the 8 in Turin. For Jannik Sinner, for example, therefore, it would be essential to win the 250 points at stake in Antwerp: with those, in fact, Sinner would counter-overtake Norrie, distancing him by 50 points and heels Hurkcaz to 90 points.

While reaching the final, Jannik would fall behind the Brit by 50 points. It is therefore vital for the Italian to try to do well this week because then there will be two 500s and one 250s available, but all in the same week, obviously before the Masters 1000 in Paris-Bercy.

Considering the last editions, the titles of the years 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 were won by Novak Dokovic who first beats Roger Federer, then Rafael Nadal and again twite times Roger Federer in the final, becoming the first player in history to win the Masters four consecutive times (fifth in total).

In 2016 the Serbian champion arrives again in the final but is defeated by Andy Murray. In 2017 Grigor Dimitrov wins who overtakes David Goffin in the final. In 2018 Dokovic returns to the final but is defeated by Alexander Zverev.

In 2019 Stefanos Tsitsipas beat Dominic Thiem in three sets. Also in 2020 Thiem reaches the final but is defeated by Daniil Medvedev with the score of 4–6, 7–6 (2), 6–4.