Wimbledon: Serena Williams and the other who wrote history

by   |  VIEW 2639

Wimbledon: Serena Williams and the other who wrote history
Wimbledon: Serena Williams and the other who wrote history

Venus Williams, with five titles (2000, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2008), was the protagonist of Wimbledon of all the early 2000s. A 17-year-old Maria Sharapova stunned the world in 2004, establishing herself as one of the biggest women's tennis stars in the world of all-time.

Petra Kvitova could have obtained more than the two titles won. Instead, to finish, will Angelique Kerber and Simona Halep won the last two editions both against Serena Williams. Last season was Ashleigh Barty to win. The late 90s and the beginning of the new millennium saw the great triumphs of Serena and Venus Williams.

Serena, winner of the title for seven times (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016) is looking for the 24 Major, which allows her to reach the absolute record of Margaret Smith. Will she make it this year? Navratilova's record is still unbeaten and could hold out for many more years.

Steffi Graf was the icon of women's tennis in the 1990s, and she won seven titles on the London lawns (1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996). Maria Bueno was another of the great interpreters of tennis on grass-courts and in London, she won in 1959, 1960 and 1964.

The following years marked the great rivalry between Margaret Smith and Billie Jean King.

Wimbledon: Serena Williams and the other who wrote history

Between the two was the American to win more titles in London (1966, 1967, 1968, 1972, 1973, 1975).

During this rivalry, a young Chris Evert also got three wins, but the late 1970s and 1980s were dominated by Martina Navratilova, record-woman at Wimbledon with nine titles won in three different decades (1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1990).

From the first edition of 1884 until 1914, there was a British domain, with many stars that, at the turn of the 1800s and 1900s, began to write the history of women's singles. Among them Lottie Dod (1887, 1888, 1891, 1892, 1893), Blanche Bingley (1886, 1889, 1894, 1897, 1899, 1900), Charlotte Cooper (1895, 1896, 1898, 1901, 1901, 1908) and Dorothea Douglass (1904 , 1906, 1910, 1911, 1913, 1914).

After the First World War, the era of La Divine Suzanne Lenglen began, which dominated both Wimbledon and Roland Garros. In London, the Frenchwoman won five consecutive titles (from 1919 to 1923) plus the sixth title in 1925.

She was the first real-world star of women's tennis, which influenced both the way she played and women's fashion in sport. Subsequent to Lenglen were the American players who wrote the story at the All England Club between 1927 and 1958.

Helen Wills Moody was one of the greatest American tennis players ever. At the Championships she won in 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1932,1933, 1935 and 1938. Louise Brough (1948, 1949, 1950 and 1955), Maureen Connolly (1952, 1953, 1954) and Althea Gibson (1957 and 1958 ) were the heirs of Wills Moody.

Wimbledon Serena Williams

• Ex-Wimbledon champion comments on Naomi Osaka's post-pregnancy return to tennis
• Tennis icon Legend Serena Williams built a business empire
• Serena Williams' childhood coach drops major statement on American's athletic ability
• Marion Bartoli addresses Coco Gauff winning US Open after Serena Williams' retirement
• Serena Williams has some questions for fellow parents of two kids
• Reilly Opelka's father rips ex Serena Williams coach and defends Djokovic