The rebirth of the ATP Finals

The history of the year end Masters, from the beginning to date

by Lorenzo Ciotti
The rebirth of the ATP Finals
© Valerio Pennicino / Stringer Getty Images Sport

The ATP Finals, the annual men's tennis event that highlights the season's best players, has a rich and fascinating history dating back to the early years of the professional circuit. The competition was born in 1970 as the Masters Grand Prix.

Organized by the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the tournament was designed to bring together the best eight players in the world in a single event. The original location was Tokyo, Japan, where the first Masters Grand Prix was held.

Initially, the competition was reserved only for players on the professional circuit. But in 1972, the ITF proposed an ambitious idea to unify the world of tennis: uniting players from the professional circuit with those from the Association of Professional Tennis Players (ATP).

This proposal led to the creation of the ATP Tour, which replaced the old professional circuit and paved the way for the participation of all the best players in the world. In subsequent years, the competition broadened its horizons in terms of location, with the first edition held outside Japan in 1974 in Melbourne, Australia.

Over the years, tennis players have competed in several cities famous for tennis such as New York, Houston, Stockholm, Paris and Shanghai, to name a few.

The rebirth of the ATP Finals

On top of that, the tournament has changed format several times over the years.

Originally, the event featured two round-robin groups, with the top two from each group competing in the semi-finals and then the final. In 1990, a knockout stage was introduced with quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals. In 2000, the competition changed its name to the Tennis Masters Cup, as part of a sponsorship partnership with the Chinese financial group "Masters Cup".

In 2009, the tournament was renamed ATP World Tour Finals and took the form we know today. The top eight players in the ATP rankings qualify for the event and are divided into two groups of four. The top two from each group advance to the semi-finals, from which the finalists then emerge who will compete for the title.

In recent decades, the ATP Finals have become one of the most prestigious tournaments in men's tennis, second only to the four Grand Slam tournaments. The triumphs at this event have given the players a prominent place in tennis history, increasing their list of honors and demonstrating their ability to dominate world tennis for an entire year.

Famous names such as Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Pete Sampras, Björn Borg, Ivan Lendl and many others have made their history by winning this prestigious competition. For many, winning the ATP Finals is considered a privilege reserved only for the best of the best.

The history of the ATP Finals is full of emotions, epic challenges and moments of glory. Every year, it represents an opportunity for tennis players from all over the world to demonstrate their skills in one of the most important events in professional tennis.

There is no doubt that the competition will continue to provide unforgettable moments and inspire passion in fans around the world.

Atp Finals