Roger Federer, Nadal and Djokovic: 58 slams and 64 finals since 2003

by   |  VIEW 11162

Roger Federer, Nadal and Djokovic: 58 slams and 64 finals since 2003

With the final victory against Daniil Medvedev at the Australian Open 2021, Serbian champion Novak Djokovic wins the Melbourne Park Grand Slam for the ninth time, demonstrating that the total domination of the Big Three continues to last despite the attempts to attack the throne of the various Next Gen.

With Djokovic's latest success, the number of victories in Slam tournaments by those three Martians who have written the recent history of this sport increases more and more. Records are meant to be broken but here we are faced with numbers that would make an impression even on athletes like Messi and Ronaldo.

To be more specific, with Novak Djokovic's win against Alsan Karatsev on Thursday at the Australian Open, once again at least one member of the Big Three would take the field to play another Grand Slam final. The hegemony of the legendary world tennis trio is impressive and is exemplified in a resounding fact: at least one of them, the Serb, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer, has been present in 64 of the last 70 Slam finals.

We have to recall that this hegemony lasting since the Swiss reached Wimbledon final in 2003. Almost 18 years of practically indisputable dominance have passed, and in this time only eight players have managed to snatch one of the twelve titles that the big three have missed.

With Djokovic's victory against the Russian, they reach 58 Slams between them (20 Nadal and Federer and 18 Djokovic). Roddick, Gaudio, Safín, Del Potro, Murray (3), Wawrinka (3), Cilic and Thiem (1), the latter last year at the US Open.

Finals without the Big Three from Wimbledon 2003

US Open 2003 Andy Roddick to Juan Carlos Ferrero
Roland Garros 2004 Gastón Gaudio to Guillermo Coria
Australian Open 2005 Marat Safin to Lleyton Hewitt
US Open 2014 Marin Cilic to Kei Nishikori
Wimbledon 2016 Andy Murray to Milos Raonic
US Open 2020 Dominic Thiem to Alexander Zverev As for the finals without the Big Three, the most recent is the one the Austrian played against Alexander Zverev in 2020, four years after Murray and Raonic's Wimbledon 2016.

The German and Canadian are two of the sixteen finalists who managed to establish themselves on the great tennis stars without however taking home the trophy. Together with Daniil Medvedev, Kevin Anderson, Kei Nishikori, David Ferrer, Tomas Berdych, Robin Soderling, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, González, Marcos Baghdatis, Ansre Agassi, Mariano Puerta, Lleyton Hewitt, Coria and Mark Philippoussis.