Andy Murray is the tennis player with the most wins by coming from two sets

by   |  VIEW 3369

Andy Murray is the tennis player with the most wins by coming from two sets

Andy Murray and Thanasi Kokkinakis have created a real show on the Margaret Court Arena. A show that allowed the two to enter the history of the Australian Open and tennis. A show, again, that brought the Briton even further into the history of this sport.

The former world number one, thanks to this victory, becomes the player still active who has made the most comebacks after being trailing by two sets. There are 11 games comeback in total in his career, none like him. Fabio Fognini and Marin Cilic make up the podium; while wooden medal, tied, to Novak Djokovic and Fernando Verdasco.

The Scottish Grand Slam champion remains the best even when considering players who have retired. In this case, Roger F

ederer, Boris Becker and Aaron Krickstein must be added behind him, authors of ten victories after recovering from two sets behind.

The other records

This is yet another record that adds to the long list concerning the match between Kokkinakis and Murray. It is the longest match played in the careers of both, with 5 hours and 45 minutes of match. It is the second longest match in Australian Open history, after the 2012 final between Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic.

It is also the third match finished after 4 in the morning. However, Andy Murray does not agree on the timetable and programming of these Australian Open: "I don't know who benefits. In a match like that, yes, we come here after the match, and that's what we discuss, instead of talking about the epic match between Murray and Kokkinakis.

Incredibly people stayed to the end. I really appreciate that people do it, creating a great atmosphere, but there are people who have to work the next day and these are not suitable hours. If my child was a kid playing soccer for a tournament and came home at 5am, I would be pissed as a parent.

He is not beneficial to them. He is not beneficial to the referees and match officials." We recall Murray won 3 Slam titles: the US Open 2012, Wimbledon 2013 and Wimbledon 2016. He also played and lost other Slam finals: Wimbledon 2012, the Roland Garros 2016, the Australian Open 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2016.