Who are the tennis players who have won the most ATP Masters 1000s?

Among the active tennis players, who are those who have written history in the 1000s tournaments?

by Lorenzo Ciotti
Who are the tennis players who have won the most ATP Masters 1000s?
© Clive Brunskill / Staff Getty Images Sport

Who has won the most ATP Masters 1000 in the history of our beloved tennis? Where can Jannik Sinner's victory at the Miami Open take him?

Let's start from the first question. Novak Djokovic leads with 40 ATP Masters 1000 titles. The Serbian's data is also enriched by the fact that he has won them all at least once. An impressive milestone if we consider that Djokovic also holds the record of 24 Slams and 7 ATP Finals (just to mention the three most famous records of the Serbian champion).

Going back to talking about the ATP Masters 1000 tournaments, in second place after Djokovic is Rafael Nadal who has won 36 1000s titles.
In third place among active players is Andy Murray, with 14 titles.

Among the tennis players who have left tennis, the Swiss Maestro Roger Federer won 28 ATP Masters 1000 and he is at the 3rd place all time, behind Djokovic and Nadal. Andre Agassi won 14 ATP Masters 1000, Pete Sampras won 11 titles in this category.

And Sinner targets Medvedev and Alcaraz

Let's now answer the second question. Who are the players that Jannik Sinner can try to surpass in terms of number of titles won in the ATP Masters 1000? There are mainly three tennis players that the Italian can currently target.

Daniil Medvedev, who has won 6 ATP Masters 1000 tournaments and an absolutely relevant fact, has won at least 1 time 6 different ATP Masters 1000: Miami, Rome, Canadian Open, Cincinnati, Shanghai and Paris Bercy.

Jannik Sinner, Miami 2024
Jannik Sinner, Miami 2024© Elsa / Staff - Getty Images Sport

With ATP 5 Masters 1000 won each there are the German player Alexander Zverev and the Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, new number 3 in the world today.

At 2 ATP Masters 1000 titles the Italian player tied the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas and the Polish Hubert Hurkacz. For now, Andrey Rublev, Holger Rune, Taylor Fritz, Grigor Dimitrov and Karen Khachanov, all with an ATP Masters 1000 win in their career, are among others.