Novak Djokovic recalls his first coaching violation: 'I did nothing wrong'

by   |  VIEW 1371

Novak Djokovic recalls his first coaching violation: 'I did nothing wrong'

Novak Djokovic was on a mission at the 2011 Australian Open, claiming his second Major crown and firing up one of the Open era's most remarkable seasons. In the fourth round, Novak took down Nicolas Almagro 6-3, 6-4, 6-0 in an hour and 44 minutes for his fourth straight quarter-final in Melbourne.

The Serb lost 18 points in 13 service games and saved all three break chances to challenge the opponent. Nicolas could not match those numbers, suffering one break in sets one and two and losing ground in the third to propel Novak through.

In his only awkward moment, Novak received a coaching violation, by his words, for the first time in his career. Djokovic was unhappy about the decision, saying he should have gotten a pre-warning first and repeating that his coach did not tell him anything.

Novak Djokovic received a coaching violation at the 2011 Australian Open.

Novak grabbed a break in the opener's fourth game after Nicolas' forehand error and cemented the advantage with an ace in game five. Serving at 5-3, the Serb fired an ace to claim the opener in 31 minutes.

Djokovic broke at 1-1 in the second set and squandered two more break opportunities at 3-1 to keep the rival within one break deficit. World no. 3 landed an ace at 5-4 to wrap up the set and move closer to the finish line after an hour and 16 minutes.

The 2008 champion opened the third set with a break, saved two break chances in the next one and brought it home with a cracking backhand crosscourt winner. World no. 3 secured another return game with a forehand winner for a 3-0 lead and placed a backhand return winner at 4-0 to move closer to the finish line.

Serving for the victory in game six, Novak held at 15 and sailed into the quarter-final. "I played a very good match. My serve worked great, and it's essential to raise a level before the quarter-final. The encounters are only getting more challenging and unpredictable.

I had a formidable opponent who hits big, and I could test some things in my game. I think the umpire made the wrong decision. I missed a forehand and turned to my coach. I only made eye contact with him and did not ask for any advice.

That can not help you much anyway, as you have to do things on your own on the court. I do not understand the decision, as you should get a pre-warning before any official violation. This is my first coaching violation; I never had that before, and he should have told me before giving me a warning," Novak Djokovic said.