Monte-Carlo Memories: When Novak Djokovic broke Rafael Nadal's domain

by   |  VIEW 9914

Monte-Carlo Memories: When Novak Djokovic broke Rafael Nadal's domain

The Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters is a very ancient and prestigious tournament, won by many experts on clay: Rafael Nadal is the man who has the record number of titles at 11 titles, eight of which were consecutive. After eight years of domination, his reign was however broken by Novak Djokovic.

In 2013, the Serb was able to beat his rival in the final, interrupting a series of successes that seemed endless, unprecedented in the history of the game. From the dawn of tennis until today, many great tennis players have not won the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters: Roger Federer, Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, John McEnroe, Rod Laver, Rene Lacoste, and Fred Perry.

This gives even more value to Djokovic's achievement, able not only to win a tournament for clay specialists, but he did it by beating the greatest clay-court player ever, after eight years of victories. 2013 was a dominant year for Nadal, yet in one of the tournaments where he rewrote history, he was beaten in straight sets by his rival.

Nole won 6-2 in the first set, dominating his opponent. The real battle started in the second set. Nadal raised his level, but Djokovic managed the impact of the Spaniard's physicality. The tie-break was clearly won by Nole for 7-6(1): Nadal's reign in Monte-Carlo was interrupted but resumed in the following years.

The Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters was canceled this year with all the clay swing due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The tournament will not be relocated this season, but it will be played directly in 2021, not following the line of other events such as the Roland Garros, which have been rescheduled for the second half of 2020.