ATP MONTE CARLO- Roger Federer and Andy Murray advance into the third round


ATP MONTE CARLO- Roger Federer and Andy Murray advance into the third round

Tennis- Former World No.1 Roger Federer and World No.2 Andy Murray are through to the third round of the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters as Murray dropped a set but Federer registered a straight sets victory over Guillermo Garcia-Lopez. Federer is making his 13th appearance at the tournament but he has never won the event.

He started his campaign against Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, who he had beaten 3 times in straight sets but it was their first meeting on clay court. It was no problem for Federer as he saved two break points in the first set and converted the only break point he got to take the first set 6-3. In the second set Federer broke the Spaniard twice to go 5-1 up but Garcia-Lopez made a mini comeback and reduced Federer's lead to 5-4.

The Swiss held his serve to take the second set 6-4 and finished the match in 1 hour and 14 minutes. Murray faced French qualifier Pierre-Hugues Herbert and took the first set easily 6-2. But in the second set Frenchman gave tough time to Murray and took the second set 6-4 to level the match. In the third set Murray got a crucial break in the fourth game and held all of his service games to take the third set 6-3 and booked his place in the last 16.

Eighth seed Jo-Wilfried Tsonga also booked his place in the last 16 as he needed two-breaks to get past Spain's Pablo Carreno-Busta 7-6 (1) 7-6 (5). Another Frenchman who reached last 16 was 15th seed Gilles Simon, who defeated former World No.8 Grigor Dimitrov in straight sets 6-4, 6-3. FULL RESULTS SECOND ROUND RESULTS (8) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (France) DEF Pablo Carreno-Busta (Spain) 7-6 (1) 7-6 (5) (3) Roger Federer (Switzerland) DEF Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (Spain) 6-3, 6-4 (2) Andy Murray (England) DEF Pierre-Hugues Herbert (France) 6-2 4-6 6-3 (15) Gilles Simon (France) DEF Grigor Dimitrov (Bulgaria) 6-4 6-3 FIRST ROUND RESULTS Paolo Lorenzi (Italy) DEF Fabio Fognini (Italy) 2-6 6-0 6-1 Fernando Verdasco (Spain) DEF Federico Delbonis (Argentina) 6-0 6-3 (11) David Goffin (Belgium) DEF Feliciano Lopez (Spain) 7-5 6-0 Taro Daniel (Japan) DEF Adrian Mannarino (France) 6-3 6-4 Philipp Kohlschreiber (Germany) DEF Borna Coric (Croatia) 6-4 6-4 Damir Dzumhur (Bosnia and Herzegovi) DEF Robin Haase (Netherlands) 6-2 6-0 Jiri Vesely (Czech Republic) DEF Teimuraz Gabashvili (Russia) 3-6 7-5 7-5 Pablo Cuevas (Uruguay)DEF Daniel Gimeno-Traver (Spain) 7-6 (2) 6-7 (2) 7-6 (4) Joao Sousa (Portugal) DEF Ivo Karlovic (Croatia) 6-3 7-6 (4) Also Read: ATP MONTE CARLO- Richard Gasquet, Milos Raonic and Gael Monfils go through to second round

Roger Federer Andy Murray Pierre-Hugues Herbert