ATP Doubles: Lukasz Kubot & Marcelo Melo beat top seeds in thriller Acapulco final

by   |  VIEW 4190

ATP Doubles: Lukasz Kubot & Marcelo Melo beat top seeds in thriller Acapulco final

No. 2 seeds Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo claimed their first title of the season in Acapulco after saving two match points to beat the top seeds and win a thriller final. Kubot and Melo recovered from a set down in the final against Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah as they edged out the top-ranked doubles team in the world 7-6 (6) 6-7 (4) 11-9 in just over two and a half hours of play.

After four breaks of serve were seen in the first five games of the match -- two on each side -- the teams served much as neither of the two pairs dropped a service in the rest of the final. Kubot and Melo, the 2017 Wimbledon champions, saved a set point in the 10th game of the first set before realizing their second set point in the first set tie-break to win a tight opener.

But the top-seeded Colombians refused to go down without a big fight as they converted their first set point in the second set tie-break to force a decider. Cabal and Farah appeared to be set for a comeback win but then they blew a 9-7 match tie-break lead as Kubot and Melo won four points in a row to overturn the deficit and claim a hard-fought win.

Elsewhere, John Peers and Michael Venus won it all in Dubai, while Roberto Carballes Baena and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina made it all the way at the inaugural ATP Santiago. Australia's Peers and Venus of New Zealand saw off No.

4 seeds Raven Klaasen and Oliver Marach to 6-3 6-2 in the Dubai final to lift their maiden team title. Peers and Venus claimed one break in the first set, two more breaks in the second set and saved the two break points they faced in just 59 minutes of play.

Peers and Venus, who teamed up for the 2020 season, didn't drop a set the whole week in Dubai as it took them four events to earn their maiden team title. Meanwhile, unseeded Spaniards Carballes Baena and Davidovich Fokina pulled off a surprise 7-6 (3) 6-1 win over No.

2 seeds Marcelo Arevalo and Jonny O'Mara in the Santiago final. Carballes Baena and Davidovich Fokina blew an early first set break but also saved set point in the 12th game of the first set to force a tie-break -- which they won after realizing their second set point.

The second seeds failed to recover from losing a tight opener as the Spaniards claimed two breaks in the second set and dropped no service games to win their maiden team title.