Wimbledon: Neal Skupski, Desirae Krawczyk win mixed doubles title


Wimbledon: Neal Skupski, Desirae Krawczyk win mixed doubles title
Wimbledon: Neal Skupski, Desirae Krawczyk win mixed doubles title

No. 7 seeds Neal Skupski and Desirae Krawczyk have captured the Wimbledon mixed doubles title. Skupski and Krawczyk beat Joe Salisbury and Harriet Dart in the final 6-2 7-6 (1) to lift their maiden Grand Slam team mixed doubles title.

Salisbury and Dart made a nice start to the match, having led 2-1 after the opening three games of the match. But they suddenly shut down as Skupski and Krawczyk earned back-to-back breaks and won five games in a row to win the opener.

Skupski and Krawczyk had four break points in the third game of the second set but failed to convert and the set eventually went into a tie-break. In the tie-break, Skupski and Krawcyk dominated Salisbury and Dart to book a straight-set win.

Skupski and Krawczyk win it all in team debut

Skupski and Krawczyk now have a 5-0 record as a pair. Earlier in the day, world No. 1 Novak Djokovic beat Matteo Berrettini in four sets to win the Wimbledon singles title. “It was more than a battle,” said Djokovic.

“Winning Wimbledon was always the biggest dream of mine as a child. I know how special this is and I don’t want to take this for granted. I was a seven year old boy in Serbia, constructing a Wimbledon tennis trophy with improvised materials in my bedroom and now I am standing here with six titles.

It's incredible”. Djokovic tied Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal on the all-time Grand Slam list with 20 Majors captured. "It means none of us will stop [playing]. I have to pay a great tribute to Rafa and Roger as legends of our sport, the two most important players in my career and why I am the player I am today.

They made me realise what I needed to improve, mentally, physically and tactically," Djokovic said. "When I first broke into the Top 10, for three or four years, I lost most of the big matches against these guys and something shifted at the end of 2010 and the beginning of 2011. The past 10 years have been an incredible journey and it’s not stopping here”.

Neal Skupski Joe Salisbury Harriet Dart