Watch: Annoyed Rafael Nadal fumes at umpire after controversial call in Madrid match

Nadal thought chair umpire Fergus Murphy made a mistake in not allowing him to challenge one ball.

by Dzevad Mesic
SHARE
Watch: Annoyed Rafael Nadal fumes at umpire after controversial call in Madrid match
© Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill

Rafael Nadal clashed with chair umpire Fergus Murphy early in the match against Alex de Minaur as the Spaniard felt the chair umpire made a big mistake in not granting him a challenge in one of the key points. 

After breaking 10th-seeded de Minaur for an early 2-0 lead, Nadal was facing a 15-30 on his service game when the Australian's ball appeared to be wide. Nadal stopped and looked at the spot but Murphy didn't stop the point and de Minaur continued playing. After de Minaur hit a shot that was out of Nadal's reach, the Spaniard again started pointing at the spot but Murphy reacted by calling a 15-40 score. 

On TV, it was shown that de Minaur's ball was indeed out. 

That's when Nadal lost it and started airing his annoyance and frustration over not being allowed to challenge. 

Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal© Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill
 

After Nadal made it clear he was annoyed with Murphy, the chair umpire defended himself: “I did not see you making any challenge. You didn’t say anything. You have to use the system."

But Nadal wasn't buying it, bluntly telling Murphy:  “I just stopped. I have to say challenge? Is that new?”

Nadal lost that game but went on to beat de Minaur

After de Minaur got two consecutive break points, Nadal managed to force a deuce in that game but still lost it after the Australian earned his third break point and realized it to get the break back.

A couple of games later, de Minaur broke Nadal in the seventh game but the Spaniard instantly broke back and the first set ultimately went into a tie-break. In the first-set tie-break, Nadal earned four consecutive set points after opening a 6-2 lead - missed out on all four of those chances - but then earned his fifth set point and finally converted it to take a tight opener.

Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal© Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill
 

At the start of the second set, Nadal took advantage of de Minaur still being mentally down over losing the first set and broke the Australian in the first game. In the ninth game - when de Minaur was serving to stay in the match - Nadal broke the Australian again to complete his two-set win.

Rafael Nadal
SHARE