Andrey Rublev brings up Rafael Nadal in dispute with umpire over controversial call

Rublev felt he was wronged just as Nadal was a day earlier.

by Dzevad Mesic
SHARE
Andrey Rublev brings up Rafael Nadal in dispute with umpire over controversial call
© Getty Images Sport - Julian Finney

Andrey Rublev brought up Rafael Nadal while arguing with chair umpire Adel Nour over a controversial call as the Russian tennis star felt he was wronged just as the Spaniard was a day earlier. 

With Rublev 4-3 up on Alejandro Davidovich Fokina and the score tied at 30-30 in the eighth game, one of the Spaniard's shots was called out and he immediately challenged. But then a moment of confusion ensued before it was understood that Davidovich Fokina's shots was actually called in. Davidovich Fokina then canceled the challenge. 

But then, Davidovich Fokina was awarded the point because Rublev hit the shot after thinking that the Spaniard's shot was called out. Rublev was left stunned because he lost the point - didn't get a chance to challenge - and he was adamant that his shot was impacted by the out call. 

Andrey Rublev
Andrey Rublev© Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill
 

"We don't have a review, we have to play," Nour was heard telling Rublev. 

Rublev then pleaded his case: "I swear I know I bring the ball out, I’m not saying nothing. He called it before I shoot."

Nour seemingly tried to show Rublev that he understood his position, telling the Russian: "I promise you I will see it after the match but for now [we have to play]."

Rublev name-drops Nadal during his dispute with Nour

Rublev then mentioned Nadal and a situation from the Spaniard's match against Alex de Minaur: "It's the same thing like with Rafa happened yesterday, exactly the same. Now I start to think that we need only machines on court instead of referees. I respect, I know that I bring the ball out. I won’t say nothing. But he called it before I shoot."

Andrey Rublev
Andrey Rublev© Getty Images Sport - Julian Finney
 

But chair umpire Nour was adamant: "But this is what I’m trying to tell you. For me, the call came after you hit the ball. That’s why it did not affect you, I have to judge."

A day earlier, Nadal stopped the play but the chair umpire later argued that he didn't call for a challenge. Nadal ended up losing the point despite TV review showing that de Minaur's ball was indeed out.

When it comes to Rublev, he lost that eighth game but went on to seal a 7-6 (10) 6-4 win.

Andrey Rublev Rafael Nadal
SHARE