Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray headline stunning 2019 Brisbane field

by   |  VIEW 12587
Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray headline stunning 2019 Brisbane field

The Brisbane International features a star-stunned field from 31 December 2018 to 6 January 2019. The Australian event is back on the ATP calendar in 2009 and is set to disappear again in 2020 as the city will be one of the three to host the ATP Cup.

In 2019 Rafael Nadal will be the first seed. Last year the Spaniard withdrew due to a knee injury and this time he may withdraw as well, as he is not back to practice yet after undergoing a foot surgery. Nick Kyrgios is the defending champion, in January 2018 he defeated Ryan Harrison in a straight-set final.

The 2012 and 2013 champion Andy Murray and the 2017 finalist Kei Nishikori, who both withdrew from last year's event due to a hip and wrist injuries, will make their comeback. Grigor Dimitrov won the 2017 title and after a disappointing 2018 he hopes to start his campaign on a high note.

The world No. 72 Jordan Thompson is the last player to make it in the main draw, Yoshihito Nishioka is the first alternate. Alex De Minaur is the defending semifinalist, last year he lost to Ryan Harrison in three sets. 'I am really looking forward to being back in Brisbane.

I have great memories of the tournament because it was the start of a sensational roll throughout 2018. The crowd really got behind me and I feel like Brisbane sparked the momentum of an incredible year. I want to come back and go even further this time', said the 19-year-old, who ended his season at the Next Gen ATP Finals in Milan losing to Stefanos Tsitsipas in the championship clash.

1 NADAL, Rafael ESP 2 
4 EDMUND, Kyle GBR 14 
5 MEDVEDEV, Daniil RUS 16 
6 RAONIC, Milos CAN 18 
7 DIMITROV, Grigor BUL 19 
8 DE MINAUR, Alex AUS 31 
9 MILLMAN, John AUS 34 
10 TSONGA, Jo-Wilfried FRA 34PR 
11 KYRGIOS, Nick AUS 36 
12 CHARDY, Jeremy FRA 40 
13 FRITZ, Taylor USA 49 
14 MAYER, Leonardo ARG 56 
15 STRUFF, Jan-Lennard GER 57 
16 SANDGREN, Tennys USA 61 
17 HARRISON, Ryan USA 62 
18 KUDLA, Denis USA 63 
19 BEDENE, Aljaz SLO 67 
20 ZVEREV, Mischa GER 69 
21 THOMPSON, Jordan AUS 72 
22 [WC] 
23 [WC] 
24 [WC] 
25 [Q] 
26 [Q] 
27 [Q] 
28 [Q]
1 NISHIOKA, Yoshihito JPN 76 
2 KLAHN, Bradley USA 77 
3 DANIEL, Taro JPN 78 
4 MCDONALD, Mackenzie USA 79 
5 ANDREOZZI, Guido ARG 80 
6 BASIC, Mirza BIH 82 
7 GARIN, Christian CHI 85 
9 OPELKA, Reilly USA 98 
10 FABBIANO, Thomas ITA 100

ALSO READ: Rafael Nadal: Worse players than David Ferrer won a Grand Slam title