Rafael Nadal set to pick the Spanish captain in ATP Cup

by   |  VIEW 5600
Rafael Nadal set to pick the Spanish captain in ATP Cup

The ATP gave more details on the ATP Cup, which will take place from 3 to 12 June 2020. The captain of every team will be picked by the country's number one player, and has to be a player who has represented the country before.

Matches will start at 10:00 AM. For Spain, if Rafael Nadal leads the team, Carlos Moya could be the captain. Perth, Brisbane and Sydney will host the 24 teams who will compete in six groups. The six winners of the first stage will reach the finals, plus the best second teams.

Three matches will be played per every tie, two singles and one doubles. Teams will be made up of at least three players and maximum five. The night session will start at 6:00 PM. The quarter-finals will take place on 9 and 10 January, semifinals on 11 January and final on 12.

They will take place in Sydney in the Olympic Stadium although a new stadium is set to be built. A $15 million prize money will be at stake and every player will get an appearance fee. A player can earn up to 750 rankings points.

The doubles teams will get up to 250 points. The ATP Cup is one of the three team events that will be played during a season and will be directly competing with the Davis Cup which underwent reformations in 2018. The Laver Cup is the third event although it is held only for three days per season, in September.