The players who won a Slam but never been world no.1

by   |  VIEW 3203

The players who won a Slam but never been world no.1

There are tennis players who went down in history: people like Juan Martin del Potro, Arthur Ashe, Adriano Panatta, Michael Chang, Goran Ivanisevic or Stan Wawrinka. Players loved by million of fans, with a fantastic tennis and a name that became legend.

The Game is tough and dramatic, but wonderful. Triumphing in a Grand Slam tournament does not happen every day and it is certainly one of the greatest satisfactions in the career of a tennis player. At the same time, many of these champion who won at least a Slam title failed to become number 1 of the ATP Ranking.

I n total we are talking about 25 players who, from the weekly rankings starting from 1973 (the Open Era began in 1968 - ed.), never managed to become leaders of the ATP ranking. Ilie Nastase was the first world no.1 chosen by computers.

Over the decades we have seen several great battles: we can think about Bjorn Borg vs John McEnroe, but also of the most recent challenges between Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras or the one that characterized Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic for years.

Here are the various Slam winners who never became world no.1 over the years: 1971-1980 Jan Kodes
Arthur Ashe
Manuel Orantes
Mark Edmonson
Adriano Panatta
Roscoe Tanner
Vitas Gerulaitis
Guillermo Vilas
Brian Teacher 1981-1990 Johan Kriek
Yannick Noah
Pat Cash
Michael Chang
Andrés Gomez 1991-2000 Michael Stich
Sergi Bruguera
Richard Krajicek
Petr Korda 2001-2010 Goran Ivanisevic
Albert Costa
Thomas Johansson
Gaston Gaudio
Juan Martin Del Potro 2011-2020 Marin Cilic
Stan Wawrinka