Roger Federer denied that the point penalty given by the umpire on Friday during his quarter-final clash against Alexander Zverev in Shanghai played a key role in his three-set loss. Federer, speaking to the Swiss TV Channel SRF, said: “The penalty point was just something that happened today, it wasn‘t something that changed the outcome, I was behind in the result but won the game anyways, Zverev put me away today, not the umpire," he said as translated by a fan, Brian's, Twitter account.
“At the end of the second set it became dramatic,I was very happy I could make it into the 3rd one could have guessed the momentum may have changed but,he was always a step ahead,his service never let him down this might have brought him the win,he played better!" Stefanos Tsitsipas spoke about his win over Novak Djokovic.
The Greek said: "I was serving well. Stupid break in, what was it, second game of the match straightaway? I missed a volley I shouldn't have missed. I don't know why it got in my head so much. Over the net. Played it out.
Just felt a bit short, no? Yeah, just stupid break in the first set and couldn't find the momentum to break back. It did happen eventually in the second set. Same with the third. I felt like I was serving better, and I think that affected the way I was thinking on the court that I'd be happy to get a break at some point of the match, and keeping that consistency on my serve."