Novak Djokovic protests against the choice of ATP Coach of the Year

The Serbian champion argued on social media, arguing that the award should have gone to his coach Goran Ivanisevic, rather than Jannik Sinner's coaches Cahill and Vagnozzi

by Lorenzo Ciotti
Novak Djokovic protests against the choice of ATP Coach of the Year
© Clive Brunskill / Staff Getty Images Sport

Novak Djokovic could not stomach the coach of the year award given to Simone Vagnozzi and Darren Cahill, who follow the young Italian Jannik Sinner. The Serbian ATP world no.1 started a rather harsh controversy on social media, expressing his disappointment at the victory of the young Italian's coaches.

According to the Serbian champion, his coach Goran Ivanisevic deserved the recognition more than anyone, for the important results achieved throughout the season. This time the 36-year-old did not remain silent and made his opinion public.

Through a story on social media, the Belgrade tennis player congratulated the winners: "Congratulations Darren and Simone for the great season with Jannik. Goran, I guess we need to win 4 out of 4 Slams to make sure that you, maybe (and I say perhaps), can be considered coach of the year.

Closing the year as number 1 by winning three Slams and the ATP Finals and having made the history of this sport is not enough, my dear coach!" With these words, the winner of 24 Major titles complained heavily.

What is the ATP coach of the year

The coach of the year award was launched by the ATP Tour in 2016: the other coaches on the circuit vote.

The association, in the recognition notes, explains how it evaluates those who have helped guide their player to a higher level of performance during the year. The album features Magnus Norman with Stan Wawrinka, Neville Godwin with Kevin Anderson, Marian Vajda with Novak Djokovic, Gilles Cervara with Daniil Medvedev, Fernando Vicente with Andrey Rublev, Facundo Lugones with Cameron Norrie, Juan Carlos Ferrero with Carlos Alcaraz and now Cahill -Vagnozzi.

The Serbian champion was the ruler of the season, winning the Australian Open, the Roland Garros and the US Open. Nole also played the Wimbledon final, losing against the young Carlitos Alcaraz. The Serb also won the ATP Finals, winning against the Italian Jannik Sinner.

With Serbia, Djokovic reached also the semifinals of the Davis Cup. Nole aims to win the Australian Open 2024, in order to win his 25th Major and the 11th Happy Slam title.

Novak Djokovic Goran Ivanisevic Jannik Sinner