Nick Kyrgios to Pablo Carreno Busta: I'm bored, I'd rather be chopping you on court



by   |  VIEW 12336

Nick Kyrgios to Pablo Carreno Busta: I'm bored, I'd rather be chopping you on court

Six-time ATP champion Nick Kyrgios has hit back at world No. 27 Pablo Carreno Busta as he admitted to feeling a little bit bored at home and that he would rather be "chopping" him on the court. Last week, former world No.

13 Kyrgios suggested former world No. 10 Carreno Busta wouldn't be ranked inside the top-50 if there was no clay events. The Australian tennis star deleted the tweet but it already drew lots of attention and Carreno Busta took notice.

"If clay didn’t exist. Dude wouldn’t of even been close to top 50”. Kyrgios tweeted. Days later, No. 20 seed Carreno Busta made his second US Open semifinal after edging out rising Canadian star Denis Shapovalov in the quarterfinal.

In 2017, Carreno Busta made his maiden Grand Slam semifinal at the US Open, in which he was beaten by eventual runner-up Kevin Anderson. After reaching the US Open semifinal, Carreno reflected on Kyrgios' comments. "He must be pretty bored...

when he comes back to tournaments, we will talk about him because he deserves it and in the meantime, well nothing, he will continue to tweet from home," Carreno Busta said of Kyrgios.

Kyrgios hits back at Carreno Busta

After seeing Carreno Busta's response, Kyrgios took to his Instagram Story to acknowledge that he leads the head-to-head against Carreno Busta 2-0.

Kyrgios beat Carreno Busta at the Estoril Open in 2015, before he also defeated him at the Australian Open the following season. Kyrgios decided against playing the US Open over coronavirus concerns. "Obviously would love to be playing the US Open but due to conditions didn't feel comfortable.

Yes Carreno Busta I'm a little bored and I would rather be chopping you again," Kyrgios wrote in an Instagram Story. Meanwhile, Carreno Busta famously made it past the round-of-16 after a Novak Djokovic default. Djokovic, seeded at No.

1, unintentionally hit the lines women with the ball after dropping his service game in the 11th game of the first set. 17-time Grand Slam champion Djokovic did everything to explain how he didn't mean to intentionally hit the lines women but the rules were clear and he was defaulted.

"Well, of course, it was a tough moment for Novak, for me, for the tennis, for everybody, no? I think the rule is the rule. The referee needs to do these kind of things. Of course, was unlucky, no, Novak hitting the ball in the line umpire... You can try to don't do these kind of things," Carreno Busta said of the incident.