Patrick Mouratoglou: "Here's what it takes to become world no.1"

by   |  VIEW 7646

Patrick Mouratoglou: "Here's what it takes to become world no.1"
Patrick Mouratoglou: "Here's what it takes to become world no.1" (Provided by Tennis World USA)

Any tennis player, from the beginning of their career, has some dreams in the drawer: among these, the most common may be those of triumphing at Wimbledon or more generally in any Grand Slam tournament, winning the Davis Cup or becoming the new number one in the world rankings.

From 1973 until today, 26 players have managed to hoist themselves up to the highest position in the ATP ranking: the latest were Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray. In a video recently posted on his Instagram account, Patrick Mouratoglou, current coach of Serena Williams, spoke of every tennis player's dream of becoming the strongest player in the world.

Mouratoglou: "Here's what to do"

He said: "Everyone wants to be number one, but few want to be number one. To be able to want it, you must first believe in it. 99% of players want it but don't believe it. Therefore, they don't do what it takes to become number one every day.

This is because, within them, they do not believe in it enough." Finally, the famous transalpine coach spoke of another major obstacle to the development of a player's career: "There are many moments of doubt. If you get carried away with doubt, it becomes dangerous.

You must not let doubt enter your home." With 321 weeks accumulated, Djokovic is the tennis player to have spent the most time at the top of the male rankings: the Swiss Roger Federer, in second place, has been standing still for years at 310.

In the women's field, the absolute holder of this record is the German Steffi Graf, who remained at the top for a total of 377 weeks. American Serena Williams, after losing in the first match of the Italian Open 2021, was defeated in the second round of the WTA 250 in Parma by the Czech Katerina Siniakova in two sets.

The event in Rome was won by the Polish Iga Swiatek, champion in a final without history against Karolina Pliskova.

Patrick Mouratoglou Serena Williams