Why Tamara Korpatsch didn't shake hands with Naomi Osaka revealed

Korpatsch came to the net after her loss to Osaka but the two didn't shake hands.

by Dzevad Mesic
SHARE
Why Tamara Korpatsch didn't shake hands with Naomi Osaka revealed
© Getty Images Sport - Chris Hyde

Tamara Korpatsch didn't shake Naomi Osaka's hand after their Brisbane International because the German was dealing with an illness and didn't want to pass it on the Japanese. 

On Monday, 28-year-old Korpatsch started her 2024 season by playing against former world No. 1 Osaka for the first time. Although Korpatsch was competitive against Osaka, the four-time Grand Slam champion was still able to seal a straight-set 6-3 7-6 (9) win.

Moments after the match was over, Osaka was at the net with the intention of shaking Korpatsch's hand. Korpatsch, who was also at the net, could be seen instantly starting to explain Osaka why it would be the best for them not to shake hands. After a brief conversation, both Korpatsch and Osaka smiled as they tapped their rackets at the net. 

Osaka then could have been seen telling something to Korpatsch - probably wishing her to get healthy quickly. Korpatsch appeared to be grateful for whatever Osaka said as the German nodded her head in approval. Korpatsch also didn't shake hands with the chair umpire, just giving him a fist bump.

Tamara Korpatsch
Tamara Korpatsch© Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill
 

Korpatsch had a chance to take the match against Osaka into a third set

Korpatsch didn't really start the match well as she got broken to love in the very first game. In the seventh game, Korpatsch faced another break point but saved it to avoid going down by a double break. Unfortunately for Korpatsch, saving a break point in the seventh game didn't lead to a comeback as she still lost the first set after Osaka broke her for the second time in the 10th game.

Naomi Osaka
Naomi Osaka© Getty Images Sport - Chris Hyde
 

After losing the first set, Korpatsch made a positive start to the second set by breaking Osaka in the first game of the set. Unfortunately for Korpatsch, her lead was short-lived as Osaka got the break back instantly in the second game. Five games later, Korpatsch lost her service again as Osaka took a 5-3 lead and had a chance to serve out for the match. Facing a loss, Korpatsch refused to quit, getting the break back and forcing a tie-break.

In the second-set tie-break, Korpatsch saved two of Osaka's match points before having her own set points at 8-7 and 9-8. After Korpatsch failed to realize her two set points, Osaka earned her third match point and 10-9 and this time converted it to prevent the German from taking the match into a third set.

Tamara Korpatsch Naomi Osaka
SHARE