A ball boy rips Djokovic, Shelton and Zverev: "They are unpleasant"

A Reddit user and Indian Wells ball boy explained who the best and worst tennis players are in terms of behavior

by Lorenzo Ciotti
A ball boy rips Djokovic, Shelton and Zverev: "They are unpleasant"
© Matthew Stockman / Staff Getty Images Sport

"I've had so many really cool and crazy experiences, I'm happy to share them with anyone who's curious. The worst was Zverev, who yelled at me for giving him the wrong ball even though they all looked the same. He was losing.

Kyrgios almost hit my friend in the face with his racket after the match with Nadal. Norrie and Zverev himself both yelled at a boy with Down syndrome. Alycia Parks kept telling us to give her the (bad word!) ball.

I've heard that Mannarino is unpleasant, but I've never been on the court with him.

Shelton is rude and dismissive off the court, somewhat self-centered when he plays. Djokovic gets impatient when he loses and sometimes lashes out at the ball boys, but usually he does it at the umpires. There are also players who hit the ball boys for their behavior on the court."

A ball boy revealed who are the nicest and most unpleasant tennis players. Through Reddit, a user and a BNP Paribas Open ball boy published his testimony after the three years of activity carried out in Indian Wells, as also reported by the Italian website Fanpage.

A ball boy reveals the most unpleasent tennis players

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic © Getty Images Sport - Clive Brunskill

"The best is Coco Gauff, she asked us to make a TikTok with her, but they were so bad that she never published them. The nicest and kindest are Stan Wawrinka, Carlos Alcaraz, Jannik Sinner, Alex De Minaur, Maria Sakkari, Coco Gauff, Emma Navarro, Rafael Nadal, Casper Ruud, Emil Ruusuvuori, Ons Jabeur, Matteo Berrettini, Hubert Hurkacz, Ugo Humbert and Gael Monfils.

Carlos Alcaraz
Carlos Alcaraz© Megan Briggs / Stringer Getty Images Sport

They are only nice when they win Novak Djokovic, Taylor Fritz, Alexander Zverev, Andrey Rublev, Davidovich Fokina, Nick Kyrgios and Fabio Fognini".

Indian Wells