WTA player Susanne Celik defaulted after hitting line judge in the face!


by   |  VIEW 15740
WTA player Susanne Celik defaulted after hitting line judge in the face!

World No. 230 Swedish Susanne Celik lost on immediate default against American Cici Bellis in the 2nd Round of the $25,000 ITF event in Surprise, Arizona. Celik was leading 6-1, 5-1 and had multiple match points before losing the 2nd set 7-6 (6).

At 2-2 in the third set Celik slammed a ball out of the court and hit a line judge of a match played on the next court right in the face. Celik promptly apologize to the umpire as well as to the tournament supervisor but that didn`t prevent her from being defaulted.

More controversy stroke when Celik pointed out that her opponent had previously in the match hit a line judge as well, although the dynamic was reported to be different. Bellis`s ball had in fact allegedely bounced several times before hitting the umpire in the back at low speed.

Celik has denied hitting the ball out of frustration. According to her version of the facts she just meant to hit the balls over to her opponent and framed one without even noticing that it hit the line judge on the next court. Follow Filippo on Twitter @FilippoScala1