2016 18&Under European Junior Championships: Stefanos Tsitsipas is the new champion!

by   |  VIEW 2888
2016 18&Under European Junior Championships: Stefanos Tsitsipas is the new champion!

Junior is the new European Junior champion, as he won this prominent title by beating Corentin Moutet 7-6(7) 5-3, who decided to retire 2 points before Tsitsipas could wrap up the win in a normal way. As was expected between two very talented and promising players, it was a fearsome battle all over the place, with a lot at the stake for both players.

Tsitsipas, beaten semi-finalist last season, had his last chance to win this event since this is his last junior season, while Moutet was seeking to join all 3 European crowns together, previously taking the U14 and U16 tournaments (only Mats Wilander did that before him).

The match was unfolding in the way that no player had the clear edge, and the first set was to be decided in the tie break. It was a very close one, Moutet had 2 set points at 6-5 and 7-6, only to waste both and lose the final 3 points, with Tsitsipas taking it 9-7.

The Frenchman was unhappy with some decisions from the chair umpire and he received two warnings, also didn't want to shake hands with him in the end. Stefanos was 5-3 30-0 in front when Moutet decided to retire, for sure not in the right moment, especially for such a big event like this, but he will for sure learn from his mistake for the future. Final result: [1]Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) vs Corentin Moutet (FRA) 7-6(7) 5-3 Ret.

European Junior champions since 2000: 2000 - Lee Childs (GBR)
2001 - Robin Soderling (SWE)
2002 - Ivo Minar (CZE)
2003 - Daniel Gimeno Traver (ESP)
2004 - Bartolome Salv-Vidal (ESP)
2005 - Thiemo de Bakker (NED)
2006 - Jonathan Eysseric (FRA)
2007 - Michal Konecny (CZE)
2008 - Guillaume Rufin (FRA)
2009 - Steven Diez (ESP)
2010 - Damir Dzumhur (BIH)
2011 - Roberto Carballes Baena (ESP)
2012 - Kimmer Coppejans (BEL)
2013 - Karen Khachanov (RUS)
2014 - Quentin Halys (FRA)
2015 - Mikael Ymer (SWE)
2016 - Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) ALSO READ: 2016 18&Under European Junior Championships: Stefanos Tsitsipas and Corentin Moutet to play for the title