Arnaud Gabas, hit by Denis Shapovalov in February, has resumed umpiring



by   |  VIEW 3642

Arnaud Gabas, hit by Denis Shapovalov in February, has resumed umpiring

It has been already almost two months since Denis Shapovalov unintentionally hit a ball in umpire Arnaud Gabas's face during the Davis Cup first round tie against Great Britain. After that, Shapovalov got fined $7,000, while Gabas went through a minor eye surgery to repair an orbital fracture.

Seven weeks after the incident, Gabas has resumed his umpiring duties. Gabas was supposed to work in Marseille, Indian Wells and Miami, but he needed time to recover and so could not do that.

After that incident, Shapovalov had said, 'I just feel awful and ashamed for letting my team down, for letting my country down, for acting in a way that I would never want to act.

I can promise that's the last time I will do anything like that. I'm going to learn from this and try to move past it.' ALSO READ: Nick Kyrgios criticizes Denis Shapovalov on Twitter!