No top ten players in Masters 1000 semifinal: it's a record!

by   |  VIEW 1640
No top ten players in Masters 1000 semifinal: it's a record!

We need to have a look at tennis books to find Masters 1000 semifinals without any player on court. This week in Cincinnati seven top ten players withdrew and the three ones (Nadal, Zverev and Thiem) who played there lost before semis.

Rafael was upset by Nick Kyrgios, Zverev by Francis Tiafoe in his opening match and Thiem by David Ferrer. Something historical as it has not been happening for 11 years, since Hamburg 2006 when there was still the Masters Series name: at that time in Germany the World No.

12 Tommy Robredo was the highest ranked player, now in Cincinnati that's the No. 11 Grigor Dimitrov. Before this week, since the current Masters 1000s have been introduced in 1990 as "ATP Super 9", which turned into "Tennis Masters Series" from 2000 to 2003, ATP Masters Series from 2004 to 2008 and just Masters 1000 from 2009, it happened only ten times that there wasn't any top player in the semis.

At the end of the tournament we will have another interesting stat as there will be a new non top 10 Masters 1000 winner from Indian Wells 2010 when No. 26 Ivan Ljubicic beat Andy Roddick in the final. Also, before this tournament for 42 Masters 1000s in a row there was at least a Fab Four (Nadal, Federer, Djokovic or Murray) in the semis.

This streak started in 2013 Indian Wells, as at 2012 Paris Bercy Gilles Simon, Michael Llodra, Jerzy Janowicz and David Ferrer were the last four. Finally, for the third Masters 1000 there will be a winner different than Fab Fours.

Last time it happened was 2004 when Andre Agassi won Cincinnati, Marat Safin in Madrid and Paris Bercy. Masters 1000 events without any top ten player in the semifinals: 1990 Monte Carlo: Leconte (World No.

152), Muster (30), Andrei Cheskonov (20), Sanchez (11).
1990 Canada: Hlasek (47), Chang (24), Sampras (19), Berger (15).
1991 Hamburg: Prpic (29), Novacek (26), Gustafsson (21), Stich (15).
1993 Canada: Pemfors (95), Reneberg (35), Martin (20), Korda (11).

1994 Canada: Stoltenberg (33), Agassi (20), Ferreira (18), Courier (12).
1998 Monte Carlo: Moya (18), Pioline (16), Krajicek (13), Berasategui (14).
1999 Monte Carlo: Kuerten (19), Mantilla (17), Costa (14), Rios (13).
2000 Monte Carlo: Alami (44), Hrbaty (24), Costa (19), Pioline (12).
2003 Monte Carlo: Calleri (31), Gaudio (29), Gonzalez (23), Coria (16).
2006 Hamburg: Acasuso (30), Stepanek (16), Ancic (13), Robredo (12).
2017 Cincinnati: Ferrer (31), Kyrgios (23), Isner (19), Dimitrov (11).

ALSO READ: Kyrgios: 'On back courts I tank matches, but against players like Nadal...' .