Umpire Mohamed Lahyani suspended for two tournaments!

by   |  VIEW 11971
Umpire Mohamed Lahyani suspended for two tournaments!

Initially, the chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani was not suspended after his pep talk with Nick Kyrgios at the US Open. As you all know, Lahyani encouraged the Australian player to make a effort in his US Open second round match against the Frenchman Pierre-Hugues Herbert, having an influence on the outcome of the match as Kyrgios would then win in four sets.

Lahyani kept officiating as the USTA had stated that although the veteran umpire made a mistake, he would have not been sanctioned because of his high experience. But ATP analyzed the case and through a statement they announced a decision.

'Despite the incident taking place at the U.S. Open, under the jurisdiction of the United States Tennis Association, the incident was still subject to ATP disciplinary action due to Lahyani’s position as full-time ATP employee and the high standards the ATP requires of its chair umpires regardless of the event to which he or she is assigned, in order to maintain the integrity of the Tour', ATP said.

Lahyani will be banned from China Open's Beijing and Rolex Shanghai Masters tournaments, and he won't receive the amount of pay he would have gotten for that work. Lahyani is expected to return umpiring at the Stockholm Open in mid-October.

ALSO READ: David Ferrer: 'It will be my last US Open. Facing Rafael Nadal is a gift'