France wins European Tennis Trophy for the third straight year

by   |  VIEW 1945
France wins European Tennis Trophy for the third straight year

The European Tennis Trophy is award delivered by Tennis Europe organization, acknowledging the annual players and teams performances for every of the 50 member nations. Established in 1991, the award accumulates the points from the European events in four fields of Professional, Junior, Seniors and Wheelchair Tennis, tracking the top-150 singles and top-50 doubles players from both ATP and WTA ranking list, also the Davis Cup and Fed Cup performances.

For juniors, the results from both ITF and Tennis Europe lists are included, together with the leading Tennis Europe team events, with a similar path in senior and wheelchair tennis. Germany won the first three editions and it was Spain who dominated between 1999-2002 before Russia took charge with five straight overall awards.

Now, France has become the fourth country with three consecutive honors, standing as the most successful Europea nation in 2018 ahead of the Czech Republic, Germany and Russia who were in the top-four in 2017 as well. The French players were the best in pro tennis in front of the Czech Republic and Germany that claimed the senior tennis title for the 28th year in a row!

The Czech Republic had the best junior results for the first time since 2001, ahead of Russia, while the Netherlands and Great Britain stood at the top of the wheelchair tennis, as always since 2001 when the organizers introduced this category.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony during the Annual General Meeting of Tennis Europe in Malta in March. Tennis Europe President Vladimir Dmitriev said, “The European Tennis Trophy recognizes the efforts of players and teams representing their countries, and in doing so acknowledges the behind the scenes work of all the staff at national federations who make these successes a possibility.

2018 was another excellent year for European tennis and we are proud of the continued progress being made, particularly by many of the smaller and developing nations. I’d like to congratulate all nations, but especially our champions, for this renewed vindication of their work”.