Bernabe Zapata Miralles Disqualified for Hole in his Shorts


by   |  VIEW 2139
Bernabe Zapata Miralles Disqualified for Hole in his Shorts

Tennis - Players have been disqualified for several reasons during a tennis match - mostly an outburst during a match. On Monday, however, the world's 232nd ranked player Bernabe Zapata Miralles, who hails from Spain, was disqualified for not having a decent outfit for his match during the first round at the Mouilleron Challenger in France.

Miralles was taking on Canadian Steve Diez in the first round of the event and was trailing the Candian by 2-6, 1-4. Diez was about to begin serving but the umpire noticed that the player had a hole in his shorts. It seems that Miralles may have torn his shorts during the changeover in anger over the score and being broken in the fifth game of the second set.

The umpire then told Miralles "Bernabe, you have a big hole in your shorts, you can not stay like that" The supervisor was then brought to the court and since Miralles did not have another pair of shorts or a coach with him and the stands were empty as well, he could not get another pair of shorts to play with.

As a result of the same, Miralles was disqualified from the match. The 22-year-old Miralles is currently ranked No. 232 in the world and has been mostly playing the Challenger circuit this season as he aims to improve his ranking.

He has reached the semi-finals of two events on the ATP Challenger tour this year. He has won 8 singles titles on the ITF circuit and 1 doubles title on the ITF circuit. Diez advances to the second round to meet Gianluca Mager, the No.

12 seed in the tournament. The 28-year-old Canadian is currently ranked No. 158 in the world.