French Player Accuses Opponent of Intentionally Hitting Her in the Eye with Ball



by   |  VIEW 2737

French Player Accuses Opponent of Intentionally Hitting Her in the Eye with Ball

They say tennis is a gentleman's support. Probably, France's Harmony Tan may not agree to the same. The 22 year old Frenchwoman had to retire from her first round match at this week's ITF event in Hong Kong after she accused her opponent of intentionally hitting her in the eye with a tennis ball.

Tan, ranked No. 248 in the world, was playing Swiss Leonie Kung, who was leading 5-7, 0-2 when the incident happened. While the chair umpire said the incident was a mistake, Tan did not seem to think so as per her post on Instagram.

"Tennis is sometimes cruel. For my first round at the ITF in Hong Kong, I picked up a ball to serve and I was hit by a ball from my opponent which it threw at my right eye. chair umpire said it was an accident. I do not. Unfortunately, I had to give up during the game because I could not open the eye."

She was forced to retire from the match and Kung advanced to the second round.

Tennis is sometimes cruel. On my first round at ITF Hong Kong tournament I was picking up a ball to serve and I got a ball from my opponent which she threw in my right eye.

The umpire said it was an "accident" Unfortunately I had to retired during the match because I couldn't open my right eye anymore... unbelievable

A post shared by Harmony Tan (@tanharmony) on