Tommy Haas wins eighth career Champions Tennis Series title

by   |  VIEW 4760

Tommy Haas wins eighth career Champions Tennis Series title
Tommy Haas wins eighth career Champions Tennis Series title

42 year old Tommy Haas won his eighth career Champions Series Tennis title with a win over former Top 10 player Wayne Ferreira, of South Africa, 6-2 in the final of the afternoon edition of the SoCal Honda Dealer’s Helpful Cup, as per the Champions Series Tennis website.

The circuit is for retired tennis players who are over the age of 30.

Tommy Haas beats Wayne Ferreira to win Champion Series Tennis title

There were two editions played on Thursday at the Sherwood Country Club. In the morning edition, Former World No.

15 Robby Ginepri beat Haas 6-4 in the final. Speaking after his win, Haas said, "I’m happy to have played a little better the second time around. I’m happy to get another win”. Haas said he has been trying to remain fit even after retirement.

"Fitness is also part of my life. I got to try and move around every day, every other day, or otherwise the body goes in the opposite direction. I’m sure a lot of people know what I’m talking about. Coming out here, playing at a high level here on the hard courts.

You have to take care of your body, no matter what are you doing, even if I wasn’t playing that much tennis anymore, I would have to find something else to keep moving”. The former World No. 2 has been in good form recently.

He played an exhibition event in July in Berlin, where he scored a win over current Top 40 player and fellow German Jan-Lennard Struff and played a tight match against current world No. 3 Dominic Thiem, where he had two set points and lost 7-6, 6-3.

In the morning edition, Ginepri defeated Ferreira 6-2 and Haas beat U.S. Davis Cup captain Mardy Fish 7-5 in the semi-finals. In the afternoon edition, Ferreira beat former World No. 4 James Blake 7-5 while Has scored a win over Ginepri.

In 2019, Tommy Haas won the year-long points championship as he went undefeated while in 2018, Blake won his first Champions Series year-long points championship. In 2017, the year-long points championship was won by former World No.

1 Andy Roddick while it was Australia's Mark Philippoussis, who won the same in 2016. (Picture via Champions Series Tennis @ChampSeries)

Tommy Haas

Haas-tastic Upset: Tommy Haas Stuns Roger Federer in Epic Grass Battle

Tommy Haas recounts stunning his idol Andre Agassi at 1998 Wimbledon

Tommy Haas recounts back-to-back wins over Novak Djokovic at 2009 Halle, Wimbledon

Tommy Haas tells about time he wanted to retire moments after win over Roger Federer

Tommy Haas issues warning to Alexander Zverev amid German's form struggles

Miami Flashback: Tommy Haas shocks Novak Djokovic