2,300 Daily Spectators permitted for the Hamburg European Open

Tennis - The tournament features 5 of the Top 10 players this year

by Prakash
2,300 Daily Spectators permitted for the Hamburg European Open

Organizers of the 2020 Hamburg European Open have said that 2,300 spectators will be permitted daily on the Center Court at Rothenbaum after they received permission for the same from local government and health officials.

The ATP 500 clay-court tournament was originaly scheduled to take place in July but was postponed due to the global pandemic. It will now start on September 19th.

Hamburg European Open to allow 2,300 spectators daily

Due to the safety measures, the 2,300 spectators will only be allowed to watch matches on the 10,000-seater centre court at Hamburg's Rothenbaum stadium.

No fans will be allowed to watch the matches on the two courts that will also be used. Tournament director Sandra Reichel commented, "We would like to thank the City of Hamburg for placing its trust in our comprehensive Covid-19 safety plan.

The health of our visitors, players, and employees is our top priority." Hamburg’s Sports Senator Andy Grote (SPD) commented, "The traditional Rothenbaum tennis tournament will be the first sports event with a larger number of spectators in Hamburg.

I am pleased that in this case we can go beyond the limit of 1,000 visitors. The decision made by the Senate today is an important signal. We were able to take another step towards normality in sport in a responsible way. “ The Hamburg European Open is the only German tennis tournament of the two major professional tours ATP and WTA that will take place this year.

The 114th edition of the clay-court event has an impressive line up, with five top ten players and seven other top 20 players having confirmed their participation. These include Russia's Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece, Italy's Matteo Berrettini, Gael Monfils of France and Belgium's David Goffin.

The other players who are on the entry list of the Hamburg European Open include Fabio Fognini, Roberto Bautista Agut , Diego Schwartzman, Kevin Anderson, Andrey Rublev, Denis Shapovalov, Cristian Garin, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Benoit Paire, John Isner, Dusan Lajovic, Taylor Fritz, Pablo Carreno Busta, Alex De Minaur, Nikoloz Basilashvili, Dan Evans, Hubert Hurkacz, Kei Nishikori , and Jan-Lennard Struff. Nikoloz Basilashvili won the title in 2019 with a win over Andrey Rublev in the final.

Hamburg European Open European Open