Jamie Murray: It is a shame that we have had to postpone this year’s Murray Trophy

by   |  VIEW 1413

Jamie Murray: It is a shame that we have had to postpone this year’s Murray Trophy

The Murray Trophy, an ATP Challenger tournament that was scheduled to take place between 13 and 20 September at the Scotstoun Leisure Centre in Glasgow, has been postponed until 2021.

Jamie Murray on the postponement of the Murray Trophy

As per the LTA website, Jamie Murray, a former World No.

1 in doubles and currently ranked No. 26 in the world, commented, “It is a shame that we have had to postpone this year’s Murray Trophy – Glasgow but after discussing it with the LTA, Tennis Scotland and Glasgow Life I agree that this is the most sensible decision.

Everyone who works so hard to make the event the best it can be and, given the circumstances, that is just not going to be possible this year. I’m looking forward to making 2021 the best year yet for the Murray Trophy”.

Scott Lloyd, LTA Chief Executive, said he was very disappointed about the postponement of this year's event. “We are very disappointed to have to postpone this year’s event, especially given the progress we had made in the first two years of the tournament, working alongside Jamie, Tennis Scotland and Glasgow Life.

However, the heavily congested tournament calendar players are facing when professional tennis resumes means that we could not guarantee the player field that this event deserves. Furthermore, the main objective of this event is to give local people the chance to see top level tennis up close, using the backdrop of the event to promote our sport across the city.

Months of planning are required in order to do this well and, given that no one can be sure what restrictions around spectator sporting events in Scotland will look like in September, everyone involved in the Murray Trophy – Glasgow has agreed that it will not be possible to deliver this year.

We want to concentrate on putting on the best possible event in 2021”. Finland's Emil Ruusuvuori won the singles title in 2019, beating France's Alexandre Müller 6-3, 6-1 in the final while Slovakia's Lukas Lacko won the singles title in 2018, beating Italian Luca Vanni 4-6, 7-6(7-3), 6-4.

The doubles event was won by Belgian Ruben Bemelmans/ German Daniel Masur in 2019 and by Spanish duo Gerard Granollers/ Guillermo Olaso in 2018. Jamie Murray, who is a seven-time Grand Slam doubles champion, reached the doubles final at this event in 2019 with John-Patrick Smith.