WTA Awards 2022: Iga Swiatek, Serena Williams and the other nominations

by   |  VIEW 1749

WTA Awards 2022: Iga Swiatek, Serena Williams and the other nominations

The 2022 season in the women's circuit officially ended after the WTA Finals, which gave the last great joy of the year to the French Caroline Garcia. A truly special year full of interesting ideas for women, who have battled in recent months to achieve great goals and stand out.

The great confirmation was undoubtedly the Polish no.1 Iga Swiatek, who dominated above all the first part with many triumphs and a series of impressive rewritten records. After each closure, it is now time to take stock for each player, who will be able to reflect on what has been shown during the various prestigious appointments and allow herself a little well-deserved rest, before returning to the court to train to prepare in the best possible way for the upcoming 2023.

The WTA recently released a note with all the players and coaches nominated to aspire to win recognition. Several categories will award prizes, including of course the athlete of the year: the number one Swiatek, the Tunisian Ons Jabeur, the American Cori Gauff and Jessica Pegula, the French Caroline Garcia and the winner of the 2022 edition by Wimbledon Elena Rybakina.

Below the categories with all the nominations.

The nominations

Tennis player of the year:

Iga Swiatek
Ons Jabeur
Cori Gauff
Jessica Pegula
Caroline Garcia
Elena Rybakina

Best Doubles of the Year:

Barbora Krejcikova & Katerina Siniakova
Veronika Kudermetova & Elise Mertens
Cori Gauff & Jessica Pegula
Gabriela Dabrowski & Giuliana Olmos
Lyudmyla Kichenok & Jelena Ostapenko

Best Player In Progress:

Veronika Kudermetova
Beatriz Haddad Maia
Ekaterina Alexandrova
Liudmila Samsonova
Ajla Tomljanovic

Breach of the year:

Zheng Qinwen
Linda Fruhvirtova
Jule Niemeier
Mayar Sherif
Harriet Dart
Laura Pigossi

Best return:

Daria Saville
Tatjana Maria
Serena Williams
Donna Vekic

Best Coach of the Year:

David Witt
Tomasz Wiktorowski
Carlos Martínez
Issam Jellali
Bertrand Perret
Diego Moyano
Rafael Paciaroni
Tom Hill