Maria Sharapova Leads the Field in Brisbane

by   |  VIEW 4896

Maria Sharapova Leads the Field in Brisbane

BRISBANE INTERNATIONAL 2015 ENTRY LIST The Brisbane International will officially kick off the WTA Tour in 2015. The entry list has just been confirmed, with Roland Garros champion Maria Sharapova leading the entrants. Other top names to be confirmed are Ana Ivanovic, Angelique Kerber and Dominika Cibulkova together with former world number one, Jelena Jankovic.

The only former winner of the Brisbane International is Victoria Azarenka, who won the event in 2009 where she defeated Marion Bartoli in the final, for her first career title. Although the draw is not as tough as last year, where all three top ranked players were entered led by Serena Williams.

There are some tough dangerous floaters, in the form of Karolina Pliskova, Madison Keys, Camilia Giorgi and the ever promising Caroline Garcia. Serena Williams is the two time defending champion and is absent from the draw, as she has opted to play at the Hopman Cup with Jack Sock.

Here is the complete entry list: 1. M Sharapova
2. A Ivanovic
3. A Kerber
4. D Cibulkova
5. A Petkovic
6. J Jankovic
7. C Suárez Navarro
8. G Muguruza
9. S Stosur
10. Ka.Pliskova
11. S Lisicki
12. E Svitolina
13. M Keys

V Azarenka
15. C Giorgi
16. V Lepchenko
17. C Garcia
18. T Pironkova
19. A Riske
20. M Rybarikova
21. K Kanepi
22. C McHale
The cut off ranking for Brisbane is Christina McHale, who is ranked at 52.